We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite of our Scotland vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Fort William B&B and Inns
Miller, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite of our Scotland vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Grange was our favorite of the many places we stayed during our visit to Scotland. Joan is a warm and truly thoughtful hostess. Her gift for making one feel welcomed, pampered and indulged is amazing. She has created a very special place with endless attention to detail, luxury, beautiful decor. Joan even helped us choose a fabulous place for dinner. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast with many wonderful choices. All this in a truly beautiful setting overlooking the Loch and the mountains! As others have said so well, The Grange is the best. We would love to return again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
166
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have read the other reviews and agree completely with everything said. It is not possible to find an adverse comment. The Grange is so tasteful, comfortable and welcoming. Joan has such an incredible eye for detail that you find you are looking round trying to take it all in. We were in the Turret Room overlooking Loch Linnhe. The house is so well located that you do not see the other hotels on the main road into Fort William. You have a clear view over the lock to the hills beyond. On the window sill was a pair of binoculars. Every little ornament placed in the room was in keeping and a pleasure to see. It was never overdone. From the moment you arrive and are welcomed by Joan with a coffee or tea through to the unbelievable breakfast everything makes the experience a complete joy. I love my porridge and Joan's was again special. It arrived with a selection of flavours to add as you wished including honey and a small flask of whisky. I then had smoked haddock which was wonderful. My wife had the pancakes and bacon. There is one small comment which I think emphasises the attention to detail. There is ample space in the car park but to make sure there is plenty of room to get in and out your car there is a short miniature hedge separating the parking bays. It may seem a small point but to me it reinforced the amazing attention to detail to make the visit to The Grange a very special one.

We had our evening meal in Fort William. It was an excellent surprise and added to our visit. We went to a small cafe called Sugar & Spice where on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening they serve a Thai menu. We had king prawn thai curry. We love Thai food and this was as good as we have had. Don't be put off by the small frontage and utilitarian tables of the cafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fort William was the second to last stop on a three week vacation. When we arrived at The Grange we found the most welcoming and beautiful bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed in. Joan Campbell, the owner of this fantastic oasis greeted us upon arrival, showed us our room and around the b&b, and even offered us tea. She was incredibly warm and wonderful and made us feel quite at home. The room that we had for three days was the Turret room. There is no expense spared in this room (or the others as far as I could tell), Joan has thought of everything. The furniture is rich and comfortable and has great atmospheric lighting. The bathroom is large and lavish with marble floors, a claw foot bath tub, rain shower, a towel warmer, and is tastefully lit. There are two windows that look over the beautiful loch and over the lovely Grange grounds. There are two small closets, lovely body and hair care products, and all the typical extras (iron and board, cotton swabs, hair dryer, tea and coffee). There was even freshly baked shortbread and small bottle of port to enjoy during our stay. The breakfast is wonderful, menu is left in the room everyday and you can choose what you like for the following morning. Joan was more than happy to help us with restaurant, activity ideas, and anything else we needed. We had to leave before breakfast on our last day for a long drive back to Bath, England and Joan even packed us a great breakfast to enjoy on the road.
Our stay at The Grange was truly a treat, we never wanted to leave. We hope to return many more times in the future. You will absolutely love and enjoy every bit of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Grange. Well there is so much I could write about The Grange but these words define how I can describe this wonderful place - simply the best. This place has it all, great views, fabulous accommodation, amazing decor and a charming host in Joan. My husband and I have just returned from our first stay at The Grange and we will do all we can to make many more visits to this super place. We were so impressed with Joan's lovely home, her amazing style (Joan, I really think you should start an interior design business). It was all the extra little touches in the various rooms that made this place so special. Even to the detail of serving me fresh home made Irish soda bread (Joan had obviously picked up my Irish accent when I had contacted her 2 months earlier regarding availability). We stayed in the Rob Roy room which was so luxurious, great King size bed, beautiful decor with a strong Scottish influence, perfect view across the Loch and a spacious and stylish bathroom. It was great to meet John and Shamus (we are dog lovers too) during our visit. For anyone planning to hike up Ben Nevis this is the perfect place to stay, excellent breakfast to set you up for the trek and no better place to recover. As you can tell we really enjoyed our stay at The Grange. SImply the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

... than The Grange for the perfect place to stay in Fort William. This pretty Victorian villa is set in lovely gardens with a burn tumbling through them, overlooking Loch Linnhe on the edge of the town. Joan is the perfect hostess and nothing is too much trouble. We were welcomed on arrival with delicious tea and shortbread, home-made that day, in the guests' sitting room, beside a roaring log fire. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished and full of thoughtful touches to make staying there more comfortable than being at home! The three guest bedrooms are individually themed with a mix of antiques and modern furnishings, and the state-of-the-art bathrooms are complete with fluffy towels, robes, and generous Penhaligon toiletries.
We found books, a flat screen tv, clock/radio, iron and board and umbrella, a safe, and plenty of good coathangers! Plus tea and coffee making things, with more of the home-made shortbread every day of our stay, and a decanter of sherry! Our room was the Garden Room, with a delightful view over the garden to the loch, but as we were the first to arrive we were shown the other rooms too which were equally delightful. The exquisite dining room had a fire burning for breakfast, although the whole house was comfortably warm, with extra throws and pillows for the bed, which we didn't need. Breakfasts were a gourmet affair with lots of choice - the home-made compote of fruit and honey and juice was especially delicious, as was the home-made muesli, and the freshly baked little loaves of soda bread. We did our best to work our way through the menu during our stay, enjoying locally smoked haddock in a creamy sauce on home-made potato scones; fresh fruit platters with yoghurt, scotch pancakes, and the traditional full cooked breakfast, to name just a few choices. Joan has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area and can recommend places to visit, outings to make, and places to eat in, and always offers to book tables for dinner, or lunch. We were made so welcome, and were so well fed and looked after, that it was with difficulty we tore ourselves away, vowing to return asap!

Room Tip: All three rooms have a view over the garden to the loch, are well equipped and have great bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Joan, John (and Shamus!) have created a uniquely wonderful experience for visitors to The Grange. As others have described, you realize that you're in for a treat as you pull into the drive. The building itself is architecturally impressive and sits atop a beautiful garden overlooking Loch Linnhe. As you enter through the portico you're presented with the first hint of the impeccable and stylish interior that awaits in the rooms. It's really an interesting blend of historical Victorian details thoughtfully blended with modern design - the kind of design that could easily go awry and become disjointed is less capable hands, but my wife and I both marveled at the results of Joan's efforts. Everything comes together to create a fascinating design and cozy, welcoming feel.

We stayed in the Turret Room - muted tones, luxurious bedding, incredible en suite, and an all-around comfortable place to call home for a couple of days. There are two closets if you choose to unpack, but plenty of room for luggage in the turret if you choose not to. There's a beautiful, functional sitting area at the foot of the bed, replete with complimentary sherry and fashionable cocktail glasses. Again, there are a hundred ways to provide these little touches, but Joan elevates everything a notch higher by ensuring that every element in the room contributes its own character to the overall presentation. And while fashionable cocktail glasses aren't particularly critical to a great B&B experience, those touches reflect that fact that no detail in your stay will be overlooked, and nothing will be ordinary.

Breakfast contributes to the experience in an equally compelling manner. The breakfast room is more traditional than the rooms, but the Victorian feel is thoroughly "non-fussy". No dangling fringe from the lamps; no doilies. With apologies to the myriad B&Bs whose design sensibilities have them over-indulging in lace and fringe, there's a way to celebrate Victorian details without making one feel like Grandma decorated the place (sorry Grandma!). The feel is a bit more formal, but very harmonious with the rest of The Grange, and fitting for a place where guests gather for breakfast. The temps were cool during our visit, and a fire was burning each morning while we ate. The fruit compote was amazing (thanks for the recipe, Joan!), and the Scottish pancakes and bacon were robust and delicious - perfect preparation for a day of hiking and exploring. The tables are nicely appointed with fresh flowers, the coffee pot a substantial pewter, the plates and flatware of high quality. Once again, these details don't make or break a visit, and it's arguably trite to even mention them, but it's one more example of how no detail - no matter how seemingly trivial - goes without thoughtful attention. There's simply no opportunity for a guest to say "hmmm... that didn't live up to the rest of the experience".

Joan is a gracious and fun host. We tend to rise early, and enjoyed chatting alone with her at breakfast. The other two rooms were occupied by two couples traveling together, one of which makes frequent visits to the Grange. They, along with Joan, helped us replan our day's activities when weather necessitated it. Our B&B experiences are, by design, largely solitary, but in this case we really enjoyed talking with Joan and her friends, and regret we couldn't join the whole gang for dinner at The Smiddy later in the week.

Speaking of dining and The Smiddy (located in Spean Bridge), Joan was again very helpful in guiding our dining experiences. Robert at The Smiddy is friends with Joan, and clearly takes pride in making sure that guests of The Grange continue their high caliber experience when they arrive at the restaurant. We were very well cared for - even being seated at a table set aside for guests of The Grange, looking out to the garden - and dinner was excellent. Thank you, Robert!

Can't recommend The Grange enough. Simply a remarkable experience, and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We sadly only stayed here one night, staying in the Rob Roy room with King size bed, king size bathroom, king size mirrors, king size pillows and king size views over the loch. Fabulous decor,all beige and white throughout with wonderful Penhaligon toiletries in the bathroom and king size towels!
Charming "landlady" , nothing too much trouble, who serves a delicious breakfast, presented with style in the immaculate dining room.
I have stayed in 5* hotels and this definitely gives them a run for their money.
As you can tell can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: only 4 rooms and they all appear just lovely . the 'superior' we had was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grange to your Saves list