We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it was great. Customer service upon check-in, dinner and breakfast was fantastic. Everyone was so friendly.
The room itself was lovely, great big bed. Took a little bit to heat up the room but after a while, it was warm enough! Breakfast was lovely, great table service and the option to help yourself to various continental. Overall an excellent stay and I would recommend to anyone travelling to Fort William.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back
.
Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    82
    50
    39
See reviews for
28
183
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rural Sussex
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stopped off for a couple of nights making our way to Skye, the hotel is typical B W - in need of some tlc.

That said for the price we paid, the decent sized rooms, modern bathrooms & good breakfast was really good value. Exceptional service & friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back
In the meantime if there is anything i can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 01397702040 or @ kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com
.
Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel all the staff were so polite and courteous. Our room was HUGE (as was the bathroom) and although not really to my taste decoration wise was spotlessly clean. We did not eat our evening meal here but did have a couple of drinks which were very reasonable. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but was perfectly adequate and again the staff were faultless. Only stayed for 1 night but would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back
.
Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our overnight stay here, we were made very welcome, given two parking permits for us and our two sons who were arriving later and given a lovely room with views over Loch Linnhe. The only complaint upon checking our shower room was that there was a badly cracked tile just as you walked in. After a lovely afternoon walk around the town we returned back to our hotel room and within a short time some of the lighting tripped out but within 10 minutes came back on. After this had happened a number of times we complained on our way out of the hotel for the evening and was assured this would be rectified upon our return as a number of rooms had been affected. Upon our return a complimentary bottle of wine had been left for us and all was ok. Breakfast was excellent with choices of help yourself fruit juices, cereral, fruit, yoghurt and croissants and then a set hot breakfast menu with unlimited toast, tea and coffee. Overall very good, excellent service and lovely views from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

To get to our room involved several flights of stairs, corridors and fire doors with no lift. As we are all in our 70s and had luggage we would have appreciated a more conveniently located room. We checked that there was a fire escape near to our room. The room was adequate. We had dinner in the hotel as there was really no where else nearby to eat, and enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was basic. The staff were very friendly and it was good value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

I can see your rooms were on the second floor, really sorry about that as you know we were busy that day otherwise we would have moved you to first floor. I know you will be back in future and when you will be please contact me and i will make sure your rooms are on the first floor.

In the meantime if there is anything i can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated royally by all the staff.. the duty manager couldnt of welcomed us any better, service with a smile, made us feel so welcome and made us feel comfortable as soon as we entered. They were all very friendly and could not do enough for you, everything they did was very efficient and done with a smile!
Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided.
We had dinner in the bar and the food was very tasty there was a wide range off foods to choose from, the bar staff were attentive and the service was very good.

There is wifi in the rooms - just ask for the login at reception.

I would definitely stay again & a big Thankyou to all the staff especially the duty manager for such warmth!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. Your review has been truly motivational for the management and the team who really feel positive when their efforts are recognised by valued guests such as yourself.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look very forward to welcoming you back in the near future
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

With the dawn of internet and so many tools to make places look good l always feel dubious when booking anything - however this one does exactly what it says on the tin ! We were greeted by the charming manager in a friendly manner that immediately relaxed us after a long journey. Escorted to our room with an offer to carry the bags. Both the room and bathroom were lovely and warm , the decor in excellent condition, the beds were very comfortable and nothing woke us up in the night. All staff during our 2 day stay were pleasant and only too willing to help. The range of food on offer was excellent either in the tastefully done Italian restaurant or in the bar area we tried both and were not disappointed with either ...one absolute bonus is that they allow you to mix and match with no hassle , very few places like to do this, we appreciated that . The whole ambiance of the Imperial is conveys the customer is King ! Keep it up guys ...we will be back .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back
.
Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.