We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverskilavulin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inverskilavulin to your Saves list
Inverskilavulin
Glenloy | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed her with husband and two boys aged 5 and 7 and the dog for Christmas. The lodge was very clean and well equipped, if you need anything the owners house is a stones throw away to ask, they are more than happy to help. We loved out stay. Would defiantly go again. Clear day you can see Ben Nevis sitting on sofa out the window.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASCALEGLENLOY, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments you posted on Tripadvisor, we are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make you feel completely safe and secure. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Kind regards
Edith Mainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We - a party of four - stayed at McClean House from 25th May 2013 for one week.

McClean House and Campbell House form two halves of a large and imposing property. Inside, we liked the stylish, generously proportioned bathroom and shower room, and the open plan kitchen/dining area/lounge. The furnishings were contemporary, attractive and comfortable throughout. Bedrooms offered plenty of room and storage.

The location of the house was ideal for us, with a beautiful stream running through the estate and glorious views from the lounge, front bedroom and picnic tables. Access to the property is via two miles of lightly trafficked single track road. This is in good condition and completely navigable, but rubbish drivers (like me) may need to exercise caution.

Fort William was around 15-20 minutes drive away for shopping requirements. More importantly for us, the house was well-situated for accessing the incredible walking available in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith M, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feed back, we look forward to seeing you again at Inverskilavulin.

Best regards,
Edith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The lodge was perfect, very comfy, homely, practical and with a feeling of luxury. ideal for a family of four, we have two young children who loved it here. The view from the main living room of the Nevis range was stunning, with Nevis itself peeking out over the trees on the slopes of Glen Loy. The River Loy was 5 minutes walk away. The location, 5 miles from Fort William is ideal for getting about and popping in to town for shopping. We also made a day trip to Mull from here to see White-tailed and Golden eagles, with the Lochaline-Fishnish ferry about 90 mins drive. For the butterfly enthusiast, this is a perfect base, with Chequered Skipper 5 mins walk from the front door and Pearl-bordered Fritillary and Green Hairstreak as well. We also had a Pine Marten come every night to feed on grapes and biscuits we put out! We lived in Scotland for 5 years and toured round a lot, and Ive been visiting every 2 or 3 years for the past 30 years as well, and I can honestly say this accommodation and location was one of the best combinations Ive stayed in anywhere in Scotland. Our trip was at the end of May 2013 and we had great weather and no midges at all. If you are walking through long grass and heather in the area, tuck your socks in to avoid the sheep ticks. Overall we hugely recommend Inverskilavulin if you are after a quiet family holiday near to local facilities or if you are looking for a great base to find interesting wildlife.

Room Tip: Both lodges look ideal, but Beinn Loy probably has the better view and is a little further from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith M, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry for the late reply to your email.

Many thanks for your very positive comments about the lodges. Yes I agree Beinn Loy has a very panoramic view.

We hope to see more chequered skipper this coming season.

Best regards,
Edith Mainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

In the September of 2012 my family and I went for a quick get away to Fort William. The inspirational views from the window took us up Beinn Bhan on our first day, despite the overwhelming temptation to remain in the warm lodge all day! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the thrill of deer stalking. The lodge was the ideal location for a relaxing get away. I would recommend this as one of the hidden gems of the Scottish highlands. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I spent a wonderful biking weekend in this beautiful area, Glenloy. The kids enjoyed the wildlife and outdoor activities whilst we also enjoyed the relaxing sceneries from the chalet. We rented a boat from the Inverskilavulin estate to go on a nearby loch where we luckily had some good weather to enjoy! The chalet was lovely and warm in the evenings with the wood-burning stove, a fantastic atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Inverskilavulin from the 21st of the 28th of July. What a great experience we had.
The owners and caretaker still understand the true meaning of hospitality. The house was immaculately clean and soo welcoming. It was a real pleasure coming back “home” after a full day out.
The environment offers stunning views and really allows you to get totally relaxed. It is a real paradise for holidays and unwinding.
The area is very suitable for walking, trekking and mountain biking right at your doorstep.
We have seen so many birds, eagles and plenty of deer and a lovely pine marter was visiting us every evening, making it truly a vacation to remember.
In short, this has been our best family holiday in Scotland and we are looking forward to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in Beinn Loy last year (September 2011) but I never got round to doing a review which is a shame as it was a really great short break for us. The estate is lovely and the lodge we stayed in was beautiful, well looked after and very spacious (there were only two of us though). It had beautiful views, was very well equipped and even had a washing machine which isn't always the case in these self catering lodges.

We chose this accommodation for the peace and quiet and that is what we got. Be aware the shops are quite a drive away, there isn't a local corner shop to get basics from and no pubs or restaurants to walk to. This didn't bother us at all, it's how we like our holidays, but it's worth knowing if you're considering going to Inverskilavulin.

One minor complaint we had was that the bed had a base valance sheet on (the type that goes under the mattress) and this sheet was obviously not changed with the other bed linen. There were dog hairs all over it (pets are allowed). Personally dog hairs don't bother me, my dog sleeps on our bed at home (she wasn't with us this time as we came to climb Ben Nevis) but what did bother me is that ALL the bedding wasn't changed each and every time guests change over. I told the manager and she was going to ensure it didn't happen in the future. Also we had a little mouse living with us, these things can't be helped, all you can do is try and catch them, but just be aware of this and keep your food in mouse proof containers.

I would absolutely love to return to Inverskilavulin one day in the future, it's clean, tidy, well maintained and peaceful. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverskilavulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverskilavulin

Address: Glenloy | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverskilavulin Estate is situated in Glenloy and just 9 miles from the centre of Fort William. Inverskilavulin is a very special place, Beinn Bhan and Beinn Loy our two holiday lodges, are the ideal holiday home for small families and couples. These luxury two bedroom lodges nestling at the foot of one of Scotland's Corbett hills are not far from the Caledonian Canal, and Neptune's Stair Case at Banavie. The lodges have been furnished to a very high standard with wooden floors, marble bathrooms and Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels. With fantastic panoramic views from your lounge over Aonach Mor & Ben Nevis, enjoy watching the wildlife - Red Deer and Pine Martins from the comfort of your home. There are also plenty of good places to eat, and lots of Pubs to have a drink and enjoy the local hospitality. After a day out, whether sightseeing or doing more strenuous activities, imagine sinking into the comfort of deep padded leather sofas, alongside a cosy wood-burner perhaps with a good book and a wee dram! - What better way to relax and unwind. For, those who just cannot exist without their modern comforts, you will find all the facilities you would expect from such luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Inverskilavulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverskilavulin Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverskilavulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.