We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis

Ben Nevis
Fort William, Scotland
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$806*
and up
5-Day Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye Small Group...
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Fort William
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fondly called "Ben" by the locals, Britain's highest mountain towers 4,406 feet above the town of Fort William.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a truly beautiful experience and should not be missed, I agree words cannot describe these beautiful views. A must do when in Scottland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    146
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A long day needed but worth the walk for the amazing views. Plenty of food and drinks needed and sturdy footwear.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Simply amazing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Words won't do this justice and it's not just about the views. The attached picture shows the trig point on the summit in cloud/fog but the getting there was the experience. Not all of it was pleasant and your knees, calves, thighs and anything else that makes up your legs will hurt. The feeling of getting to the top makes up for all of it as you really feel you've achieved something and the people you meet on the way are great. The experienced ones give you encouragement and the newbies, like me, have a laugh about how daft we are to do it! Lastly, thanks and good luck to the three Scots girls who also struggled up with me and we passed each other at different times and in different levels of tiredness. Their offer of the 'wee dram' of whisky at the top was really appreciated and it tasted great. Almost as good as the beer at the bottom three hours later!.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“One you have to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Every Brit should climb the Ben once in their life - this was my second time - 50 years after the first! Our visit was included in a long walk via the Carn Mor Dearg arête, which is much more of an undertaking than the straightforward but rather tedious tourist route.
We were lucky this time - a little bit of cloud while we were on top, but clear for 95% of the walk. A memorable day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ben Nevis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stunning rugged and beautiful my words just don't do it justice your really need to see it for yourself

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.