We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newly extended in 2013
Newly extended in 2013
Newly extended in 2013
Cottage with new sun lounge extension
New sun lounge
Wood-burning stove and entertainment system, sun lounge
Dining Room with Rayburn, leading to New Sun Lounge
Fort William
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JohnT1863...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, excellent facilities, great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, the surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cottage was so comfortable!
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NickyH53
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, cosy, well equipped with acres of space and marvellous views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Just as all the other reviews have said, this is a lovely clean and well equipped cottage with fabulous views. It has more than adequate heating for those chilly Scottish nights, even electric blankets on some beds. The grounds are well secured so no problems letting the dog out for a good mooch around but the track up to the cottage would be dicey in the snow. Good selection of DVDs and games although maybe a few more PG or U certificated ones might be needed for younger children.
All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable 5 days away, our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay for longer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and the land surrounding the cottage
Liked least: Hoped for an open fire or wood burner in the lounge
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
davids_00...
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We were seeking a quite tranquill location but couldn't have imagined the views surrounding this holiday cottage. Just perfect. With our dog ,affording ample and safe 'running' area.
The cottage itself was delightfully appointed with everything we could have wished for.
It was a delightful stay at a convenient and pleasant location

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort of cottage in a peaceful area
Liked least: Can't think of anything really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lars G
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Great views from cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Ideal base for discovering Fort Williams Lochaber area to the West and Cairngorm National Park to the East. Very nice cottage with all amenities you will need for a nice holiday. Welcome basket to get started was great. Impressive views from kitchen over the mountains. We would like to have that view in our apartment back home in Denmark.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RedCheshi...
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

What a lovely cosy cottage! In it's own 2 acres of woodland in the beautiful Glen Roy, surrounded by country estates and national parks and with views of the Nevis range. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped with original features and fresh, modern decoration. There was no mobile phone coverage for us but I think there is a Vodafone signal. Close by is amazing walking and great drives (Glen Nevis, Glen Coe & the Nevis mountain range). It is an easy drive east to Loch Ness and the Cairngorms National park where we loved the beach at Loch Morlich, feeding Reindeer on Cairn Gorm and watching the Polar Bears at the West Highland Wildlife Park. Also within driving distance is the beautiful west coast. with it's sandy beaches and seals. The area is also steeped in history and has plenty of small museums which are well worth a look. The one in Fort William is very good and we also enjoyed the small Clan Campbell museum at Achnacarry which has some exhibits from the commando training during WWII.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Walking in Glen Roy & Glen Nevis / the views from the cottage
Liked least: The midges at dusk near the river / the lack of mobile phone signal
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Luu5
Lekkerkerk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Complete, homely, stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

we enjoyed a 2,5 week holiday in this cottage very much. from the moment we entered, we felt at home. all equipment was available to have a comfortable stay. we would come back any time possible.
we stayed with 2 dogs, who could walk freely around the house because of the good fences surrounding the property.
Our host made sure we got everything we need from info wise. Also extra claning and clean sheets were provided.
The direct countryside Glen Roy is one of the most stunning sides in Scotland I have ever seen. And is just 2 minutes away.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the surrounding garden.
Liked least: the midges
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ng1995
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable cottage with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My partner, I and my 2 teenagers had a lovely time at the cottage. It was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The views from the kitchen and out in the garden are just stunning. We had some great days out - up Aonach Mor in the cable car, driving around Loch Ness & visiting Urquhart Castle, taking the steam train over to Mallaig and visiting the beautiful silver sands of Morar are just a few of them.
If you are looking for complete peace & quiet without being too far away from everything then the cottage is excellent. We had to go into Roy Bridge just down the road for the kids to get signal on their phones and for their internet to work, but that wasn't a problem.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: That there wasn't a huge window in the dining room to admire the views.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$161
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Ruari M
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2010
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 13 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing