We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverlochy Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inverlochy Castle to your Saves list
Inverlochy Castle
5.0 of 5 Castle   |   Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Longwood, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

A splendid gem in the Scottish Highlands. We traveled from the USA to experience this magic place. Professional and friendly staff. Elegant settings and extreme attention to details. The grounds are fantastic. The wall garden was very well kept. Pure and absolute relax. We enjoyed all the activities that were offered, but a special mention goes to the exquisite dining. Innovative cuisine with the best local ingredients. Unforgettable! We will surely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    43
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
181
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This hotel was on my partner's wish list - so we saw this as a once in a lifetime place to stay.

An amazing location with views of Ben Nevis, beautiful building and friendly staff. Sure, it's very posh, but we didn't feel that the staff were too fussy or formal. On arrival, we asked for some afternoon tea, then settled in to indulge in freshly baked scones that were made just for us. Very special.

The package included dinner, and our menus were printed and in our room. As a vegetarian, I am used to having to settle for whatever one vege option there is. At Inverlochy Castle, there was a vegetarian menu just for me, with four or five choices per course. The food for both of us was delicious, breakfast in the morning was fantastic too.

While this is not a hotel with dozens of activities available, it is a lovely setting, and a real treat. Try out the games room with the heated billiard table.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I have wanted to stay here for years. My husband booked it as a surprise for me and we stayed for 1 night. On arrival we were told we would be eating at 19.00. We asked if we could eat later as this was too early for us, however this was the only time available. Our meal was delicious, however my red wine was served in a glass resembling a vase and when I asked for a slightly smaller one I was informed it was to help the wine 'breathe'. As a sommelier myself I found this comment uneccessary. I was very surprised at how busy the hotel was as most couples were staying at least 2 nights. On our return home we went on the hotel website and couldn't believe when we read there was an offer 2 nights for the price of 1. I was very upset as this package had not been suggested when my husband made the booking and even more upset when he phoned the General Manager and was told 'you should have looked at our website'. By all means stay here, however be aware your fellow guests may be paying half of what you are.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We often visit Inverlochy and have not yet been disappointed. This is a remarkable hotel: excellent service, beautiful location, superb food. Very plush surroundings, however Inverlochy seems to avoid any pretence and one feels quite at home sitting in the grand hall.
Lots of activities and sites in the surrounding area (commando memorial, Ben nevis (chair lift), distilleries). Travel further west and you will see some of scotlands most spectacular landscapes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

If you are looking for a small hotel full of elegance and discreet luxury, this place is for you. The hotel has got less than 15 rooms with plenty of communal space: library, large hall with fire place, billard room, beautiful sitting room etc. The hotel makes the most of the incrdible views both from the bedrooms and the shared space. You could spend the whole day looking at the Highlands landscape to change with the weather and the time of the day. The rooms are decorated with syle and avoid the trap of too much flowery chintz or tartran.
The staff is wonderfully, discreete never visible until you need them. A word of caution: if you like the staff to proactively make suggestions or propose acitvities, this hotel is not for you.
Tip: the best view to Ben Nevis is from the walled garden, definitevely worth looking for it in the park.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

If there is a heaven, I hope it will be like Inverlochy Castle. We have just returned from a fabulous weekend there and it was the best birthday present I've ever had. The location, the room (Queen's suite), the food and last, but by no means least, the fantastic staff who did everything to make our stay memorable. If you would like a romantic getaway - head directly for Inverlochy Castle!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is our second trip to Inverlochy, the first being 2 years ago for my wifes 40th. We stayed in the Kings Suite and although it lacks the finesse it makes up for this.

There are more foreign staff now than 2 years ago but everyone was friendly, helpful and NOT overwhelming. If you want somewhere a bit special where you can relax then look no further but if you want to be waited on hand and foot then try somewhere else...

Oh and excellent fine & food...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverlochy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inverlochy Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William
Inverlochy Castle Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverlochy Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.