We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may never find superior lodging on this planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverlochy Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inverlochy Castle to your Saves list
Inverlochy Castle
5.0 of 5 Castle   |   Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“You may never find superior lodging on this planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went on a two week trip through Ireland and Scotland with my wife. We've never been to the Old Country before,and had our share of some very nice B&Bs. The castle is another animal entirely-wow. I appeared worn from our travels evidently, and the highly attentive staff thought to bring the Whiskey trolley by for a spirit. that was the start of a wonderful two night stay. The rooms were excellent. We went in July and were able to tour the grounds and the walled garden. The dinner the first night was without equal in my life. Service was world class, and the food was insanely good. Even some excellent US restaurants have weakpoints, but the kitchen was firing on all cylinders for us. I already made up my mind to return to FOrt William someday, but Inverlochy made it a definite plan. You see words tossed around to describe this place-lovely, wonderful, superb, exceptional-they are all appropriate. The physical trappings are all in place, but what really makes it is the staff. All very good. I was made to feel respected and clearly cared for. They even had a suit coat and shirt with tie, as I didn't pack that much extra stuff. You can look a very long time for equivalent lodging and food and never come up with the infusion of excellence which we experienced this July at Inverlochy.

Room Tip: Who needs a pool when you have a real, live loch? You may wish to bring a proper suit coat and tie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review for the Trip Advisor community. At Inverlochy, we pride ourselves on an excellent level of service in all aspects of the Hotel but especially so in the areas you mention. I really do hope you make it back to Fort William and especially to Inverlochy. Thank you very much for your kind comments.


Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    43
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
181
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I took my Wife to Inverlochy Castle for lunch to celebrate our 1st Wedding anniversary. It can be only described as a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royality.

They well deserve all their awards

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Inverlochy for such an important occasion as your first anniversary. We really do pride ourselves on the food we are able to produce and that this shines through and our guests are able to enjoy. We would be very privileged if you were to return for your second anniversary.


Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in hoping for lunch. We were warmly welcomed in the car park and given a choice of places to have lunch! We chose the drawing room with it's lovely views over the hills.
Our soup was delicious and the salad that followed truly gorgeous. I really loved my cream tea with beautiful warm scones. Service was great friendly and attentive. The hotel decor is fabulous, check out the ceiling in the main hall. A beautiful castle.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent visit for lunch at Inverlochy. We’re glad you took the opportunity to stop in whilst on your travels. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you once more in the near future.



Kind Regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Inverlochy Castle Hotel whilst touring the Highlands. From the moment our private guide drove us into the estate, we knew that we had arrived at a superb destination; and how right we were. You are greeted as if you are royalty by exceptionally warm and friendly staff. The hotel is simply superb. The main function rooms are magnificently decorated (you could easily feel as though you are at Balmoral Castle) and the bedroom we had was pure luxury. We had a view of the nearby loch and the huge bathroom was wall to wall carpeted making it feel warm and cosy. The room had all the mod-cons (e.g.complimentary wifi, flat-screen TV etc) that you'd expect in a modern 21st Century hotel. The cuisine was sublime. We had a delicious dinner, where the food was beautifully served and presented. It was preceded by drinks and canapes in one of the lounges where a pianist was playing. Coffee was served in another lounge with after-dinner chocolates. The next morning, we had a full Scottish breakfast -wonderful! This hotel, its surrounds, service, rooms, cuisine and atmosphere make it a haven for a peaceful retreat in what must surely be one of the most beautiful settings in the world. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your son to Inverlochy Castle and I am happy to hear how you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer, I sincerely hope we may welcome you both back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've only been here for tea in their lovely drawing room, but its the best place I've ever been to in Scotland for such things. The view is amazing, the tea is great, and presented beautifully - the only place I know with crocheted tea cosies (not naff, honest!) and a pot of hot water, tea strainer and the works get brought out when you ask for tea) The shortbread was pretty good too - 3 different sorts, although that at the Bunchrew house hotel wins my accolade for best Shortbread in Scotland (and believe me I have tested extensively!). The loos are very grand, and the flower arrangements around the public areas wonderful too. Have dropped by for tea several times and alwas been delighted. I think I might feel a little uncomfortable if I was there in jeans and trainers - its a beautiful place, with beautiful views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am pleased to read you have taken the time to stop at Inverlochy Castle many times and relax in our beautiful drawing room. We certainly are lucky to be surrounded in some amazing scenery. We welcome such a wide variety of guests for afternoon tea, from hikers trekking through the amazing scenery to families dressed in their finest for a special occasion.
Our in house florist Gail takes care of all the flower arrangements throughout the castle which I feel adds that extra bit of glamour. I look forward to welcoming you back for tea again soon.

Kind regards
Jane Wason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would give this a five star rating if it didn't have carpeting in the bathroom - ew! We had a beautiful suite overlooking the incredible scenery in the area. Overall the staff and food were lovely. Every evening, cocktails in the drawing room with an attentive staff, where you order your dinner. You are called in to the dining room when the meal is ready to be served. Breakfast was wonderful, the staff was very helpful in recommending the day's activities. Absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. With so many great activities and beautiful places to visit in the area the staff here are always happy to offer advice or assist in planning your day. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Inverlochy Hotel is my favorite hotel in all of Europe. I feel as if I am the lady of the manor each time we visit. The grounds are full of lush, green, gently rolling green hills and stately evergreens. The rooms are elegant, but extremely comfortable. The staff is courteous without too much interference. The cuisine served in the jacket and tie required restaurant is fresh, Scottish fare with European influences. Their Michelin star is well deserved. Visiting the hotel is a chance to get away from the demands of work and truly relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery, relax in elegance and revel in the Scottish Highlands.

My first response to "where do you want to spend vacation?," is "Inverlochy Castle!"

Room Tip: I love the Queen's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, with so many familiar faces that have stayed with us again and again over the years, it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests such as yourselves.
I also completely agree that the queen suite is a real treat where you can relax and feel like the lady of the manor.
I look forward you welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jane Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverlochy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inverlochy Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William
Inverlochy Castle Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverlochy Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.