We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good breakfast, compact room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InverNevis B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added InverNevis B&B to your Saves list
InverNevis B&B
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, good breakfast, compact room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Invernevis is run well. It has good parking space, is clean and if you opt for the loch view rooms, you get what it promises. The full Scottish breakfast prepared by Ben the friendly owner, is hot, delicious and filling. What's more you can have it while having great views of the loch from the window. The double room we stayed in, was compact, bed comfy and the bathroom small but not uncomfortable. The checkout time is strict at 10 am though Ben did allow us some leeway until 1040. The place is a 10-15 min. walk from the high street. At GBP 65, this is one of the on-par B&Bs at Fort William. If you want anything cheaper, you would need to look at sharing rooms in hostels. We stayed for 1 night over a weekend, so it was OK. Unfortunately, when we stayed, we were told that the card machine was kaput and had to pay in cash. A bit inconvenient that. Overall, would recommend the place for a night or 2. Just be sure to checkout at 10!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Try to book a lake view bedroom, the view is lovely! The place is cosy and the price fair. Good continental breakfast. Even being a B&B we were well welcome. Close from the city. Our room had a small bathroom, but it wasn't problem principally because we were notified before.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved it here! We had the very small room ( as clearly stated when we booked) but it wasnt that small and we found it fine. Ben is a great host and delivers an excellent service , just what you hope for when you book a b &b rather than a hotel.

Great views of the loch, great scottish breakfast. Bed was really comfortable. Only downside was : thought it was a wee bit expensive for a B & B but seems all of FW is expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rated 4 Star our room was a struggling two-star. We were aware of the separate but private bathroom so that was not a problem. It was the room and the furnishings and the amenities. It felt like a kids room complete with a doily over a small wood table, a three shelf, 2 x 2 foot, basic white washed wooden stand that also served to rest the 13" "Goodmans" computer monitor/television. The larger wooden cabinet and I am talking not well made cabinet, served for clothes. Don't even get me started on the bright royal red cheap carpet/rug thrown down to cover the floor.
But I will speak about the two twin beds, no, they were futon-like, with wood slats and one of the worst ill-formed worn mattresses I have slept on in a long time. Just to clear, the futon was about 18 inches of the ground.
We have traveled extensively, I have slept in worst rooms. What bothers me here is that this room was advertised as a four star. There might be nicer rooms in the house but this was not one of them.
The owner was nice, the breakfast good. The room was a disaster. I hope other travelers read this and make their own decision. I would not return at half the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

stayed 1 night, old building rooms samll and TV tiny, bathroom off suite. 2 beds and sink in room. Breakfast toast and small scottish breakfast. parking on site and nice views of loch

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just got back from our trip to Scotland. We stayed 4 nights at InverNevis B&B and had a great time. Ben, the "Inn Keeper" was a tremendous help with suggesting day trips/things to do in the area as well as cooking us a delicous breakfast every morning. The B&B was clean and quaint, with basic amenities, including free wi-fi. Our room overlooked the lake, cozy but comfortable. Location is perfect for the area. We were able to see all we wanted no further than an hours drive. The B&B is a short walk to town for local restaurants and shops. I'd stay again and would recommend you do too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pas de Calais
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Terrific welcome from Ben with lots of advice about what to do in Fort William. The view of Loch Linnhe from our bedroom was fantastic and Ben even arranged a spectacular rainbow across the loch at breakfast time. A really friendly place in a beautiful corner of Scotland.Smashing!

Room Tip: We had Room 1...loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InverNevis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InverNevis B&B

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your InverNevis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InverNevis B&B Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InverNevis B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.