We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Ambiance, Good staff but Average Food Quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Tandoori

Spice Tandoori
141 High Street | Fort William, Fort William PH33 6EA, Scotland
1397 705192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 61 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Ambiance, Good staff but Average Food Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I regularly visit this place and in due course i have observed the pros and cons of this restaurant which are as follows-

Pros -

1.Best Indian option available in the town
2. Nice ambiance
3. Comparatively elaborate menu
4. Staff members are nice ( may be coz I am a regular customer)

Cons -

1. Food is too oily and bland as far as spices are concerned ( May be specifically for me coz I have a predominantly subcontinental palate.) P.S Adding Spices does not mean making the dish hotter,rather adding the right spices enhances the aroma,texture and and eventually the taste of the ingredients in the food.

2. The chefs might be good in cooking some popular and regular stuffs which are there in the menu, but as soon as you ask something different e,g, Vegetable Stuffed Paratha, the quality drops.

3. The staff members are bit varied, few are very professional and eager to please while the others are just chatting away hiding behind the pillar in front of the bar .

Summarizing the whole thing is that it is a shame to rate this restaurant just average as it has the potential to be the best, if they have that eye for detail and change few things here and there

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    67
    25
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food but long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I think it's a good indian restaurant with tasty meals but we had to wait more than an hour to get our meals...It was a Saturday evening though, so quite crowded but still I don't remember having to wait for that long in any restaurant (many of them in much more crowded cities...)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“food okay but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unfortunately there was a mix up with our order so we waited along time for our food. We appreciate this does happen and were actually given a complimentary beer, but we were unimpressed with the attitude of the waiting staff who seemed to think they were too 'cool' to be there. When the food did arrive it was actually quite tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great food, good service. The wine is also decent value. We arrived without a booking, although it was midweek. We got a table straight away and were looked after well all evening. Our curries were excellent and so too were the starters. I really like this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived without a reservation having been recommended this restaurant by someone in the street who told us it was the best curry house in Fort William. They were able to seat us (7) quickly and were prompt taking our order and serving the food. Delicious, piping hot and good value. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Tandoori also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Spice Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.