We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night of the new menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey Restaurant at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Osprey Restaurant at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Loch Lochy, by Spean Bridge, Fort William PH34 4DZ, Scotland
+ 44 (0) 1397 712622
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“First night of the new menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We didn’t think we would get to the hotel in time for dinner so we called ahead to let them know...... Don't worry they said we will stay a little late for you or make up something you can have on arrival, now that is 'Scottish hospitality'. We were told that this was the first night of their new menu, because of that we expected dinner to be 'rough and ready' we were wrong as we enjoyed a well presented well cooked dinner of smoked salmon (local), home-made pate, steak and ale pie and medallions of pork. The restaurant was quiet as you would expect on a stormy mid-week evening but we have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and would recommend this to all for a well-cooked evening meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

what a view to sit and dine at, lovely deck area outside with lochside fantastic, Scotland at its best

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

fantastic food made with great ingredients in a beautifull setting!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service Will Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We were a party of nine tried most of the starters, mains and sweets all were excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Mother's Day Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife had a Mother's Day meal at this restaurant with friends & she thoroughly enjoyed it. The food, atmosphere & views were all excellent. The service was faultless & friendly. She has no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone wanting a nice meal out in nice surroundings.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Restaurant at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Osprey Restaurant at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey Restaurant at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.