We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Music and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant

Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant
103 High Street | PH33, Fort William Ph33 6dg, Scotland
+(44)01397 702295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 58 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Music and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good food, good beer and fantastic entertainment courtesy of "The Shine" get there early for a good seat, good seat is a must as it will be a long night. it was after 2.00am when we left and the band that night were still playing

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    111
    62
    46
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort william
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food cold and not cooked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014


Dined here tonight. Having been put on a waiting list of 45 minutes we waited in the bar, after 70 minutes we hadn't heard anything so went to the restaurant to see how much longer it would be before a table was ready, with lots of free tables we were then shown to our seats. What a disappointment ! The Haggis starter was Luke warm, the main course of pork escalope was very dry, the veg was cold and so hard that I couldn't cut it! My wife's veg was the same with the addition of cold peas. The chicken & spinach pie was bland and tasteless. I negotiated a discout on the bill for the un-edible part of the meal and felt sorry for the waiting staff having to deal with this. Probably best to avoid this place if you don't want your trip to FW spoilt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Ben Nevis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way touring in our camper and wanted a break from cooking. We were warmly greeted by the staff, particularly the short haired blond lady who was very nice, polite and attentive, well done a real asset to the Ben Nevis. We ordered and food was served promptly, piping hot and of excellent quality, I opted for the Wexford chicken and mark the fish pie, both were beautiful, well proportioned and tasty. A lovely find, would recommend, lovely staff, nice decor. Worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
563 helpful votes 563 helpful votes
“OK place for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We (late-)lunched here after completing the West Highland Way - not sure we made the best choice.
The ales were reasonable (Light Ness in particular), and my fish pie was actually pretty good, but the service and atmosphere could have been better.
It would probably not be my first choice if I were to walk the WHW again, but Fort William overall was I have to say something of a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Try the burger - it is the best. And the fish and chips were really good too, Service was fast and friendly and the food was excellent. Great location, at the base of Ben Nevis.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.