We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes You Wonder What is Going On ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Food Stop

The Food Stop
Alexandra Hotel | The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
01397702241
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 61 Restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Makes You Wonder What is Going On ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

With all the different reviews about this eating place, it makes us wonder what is hapening at the Food Stop in the Alexandra hotel, and Fort William in general... I am aware that many places have closed down in the high street, in FW and the whole place is run down (nice scenery though) , and many of its inhabitants are demoralized and fed up with conditions and the lack of sensible proposals to regenerate the area, and this can lead to complacancy...Instead of wanting to show that your business is the best it can be.... Many eating places in Fort WIlliam have poor reviews (see Trip Advisor) and it makes one wonder if some businesses rely on an unskilled (locals need to update their customer interfacing skills) or partially skilled transient work force, because the local scottish youth are leaving the area. Think also it must depend on who is on duty in the service area and the chef...The quality of their moods and skills are dictating service. So bearing this in mind ones experience will depend very much on the the agenda and therefore attitude of who is attending to you in the food stop, (and other places also) at any particular time. THIS IS NOT the way to operate in the service industry, there must be consistency and the customer`s needs always come first. Whch many employees have forgotten.. However, when we called in the Food Stop, in the centre of Fort William, which we would describe as a typical old fashioned hotel restaurant, the food was well presented and plenty of it. The atmosphere to eat was OK, the furnishings were a bit dated and dowdy but the service on the day we went in, Feburary 2013 was excellent from the male that served us, food served within 15 mins and by a this genuinely friendly scottish male` who catered for our needs. There were other female staff who were not so skilled at communication and service. So you see, it all depends, pot luck in many Fort William places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid - you're not that hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Four colleagues and myself visited this place recently and can safely say none of us will ever be back. Food was terrible; frozen rubbish and tasteless.

When we asked to pay separately the staf were less than impressed and huffed more than a toddler.

What a joke of a place. Save your money and buy something fresh from Morrisons

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Between Wolves and Wales
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steak I've eaten in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I have just come back from a few days in Fort William and we decided to try the Alexandra Hotel having seen it on many occasions on visits to Fort William standing impressively overlooking the green in the town.

The food was very wholesome, presented very nicely and enjoyable. On my first night I had the haggis followed by the Aberdeen Angus steak pie.

We enjoyed it enough to make another visit 2 nights later. This time I went for the stuffed mushrooms to start which were delicious then the rib eye steak. This was cooked to perfection and very succulent, served with a red onion marmalade, stornoway black pudding and fried onions. It was the tastiest steak I have eaten in a long time and was very welcome after the awful steak I had to send back the previous evening at the nearby Brewers Fayre.

The side salads were very good too with fresh, tasty salad - sometimes the side salads can leave a lot to be desired.

A very enjoyable couple of meals and highly recommended

The live Scottish music in the bar added to the authentic atmosphere

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth what it costs...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We were nice welcomed to a not really crowdy room. After beeing seated asked to order drinks as we did, the mineral water arrived quickly at our table but then no one noticed us. A few waitresses were busy setting tables and having discussions so they ignored the guests completly. After around 25minutes finally somebody saw our hungry waving signal. The meal came more or less within acceptable time. The starters were great, but the main curse wasn't. I ordered a medium steak for 19£ which was everything else then medium: it was bone dry. The pie was overcooked aswell! Maybe the cuisine isnt that bad and just the service.. but i would certainly not recommend that restaurant!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value Family Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stopped off here on our way back to Perth and glad we did . Friendly service, children made very welcome and good wholesome food (at great value) - some of the things sadly lacking in a lot of places these days.Well done the Alexandra Hotel!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Stop also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Food Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Food Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.