We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to authentic Thai food in Fort William” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar & Spice

Sugar & Spice
147 High Street, Fort William PH33 6EA, Scotland
+44 1397 705005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bringing a taste of the far East to the West Highlands of Scotland. Sugar & Spice is a warm and friendly family run Thai cafe tucked away at the West end of Fort William High Street. Driven by his love of Thai food, our Thai Chef Bow serves up Authentic dishes in our relaxed and informal atmosphere. Sugar & Spice is unlicensed, however you may bring your own bottle and enjoy your favourite wine with one of our delicious meals. Opening as a Thai restaurant in Summer 2012 we have fast developed a reputation for delivering quality, authentic Thai food at a good price.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closest to authentic Thai food in Fort William”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Food - Ate at this and another restaurant serving Thai food on Fort William high street, and have to say Sugar & Spice does Thai food much better! Ordered Chicken Kaprow and Prawn Ped Kiang - both delicious and Kaprow dish had a good level of spice & kick to it, which I loved! Being one who knows Thai cuisine and have had Thai food in Thailand/Asia/London, I'd say the Kaprow dish's flavour is very close to the authentic ones I've had in Asia.

Service - Food took long time to be served though we were the only other table that evening. Waiter did apologise for wait and my guess is because of several takeaway orders they had.

Overall, based on what we ate, we would say the place serves decent Thai food so would definitely recommend it if you need some Thai food fix whilst here, and extra spiciness can be requested!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

First impression (when looking through the window) was that it was more a cafe than somewhere for a romantic evening. Once inside and seated, it felt much more intimate. The food was FANTASTIC, service was great and excellent value for money. In addition to all of this it's BYOB!

Disappointed this place is not on my doorstep. If it was, I would most definitely be a regular. The Thai Red Curry was phenomenal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

New to the Fort is this small Thai restaurant serving the most delicious food. Fort William has lacked a quality place to dine for more years than I can remember with the exception of out of town restaurants such as Russell's in Spean Bridge and Loch Leven Sea Food Café. Note: The Thai restaurant serves authentic Thai food at weekends only. Non licenced but bring you own bottle.....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fresh lunches at reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have been in a fair few times now for lunch (though yet to try the dinner menu) and each time the food has been great. Ingredients look and taste very fresh, the milkshakes, coffees and teas are to die for also! If I have any minor complaint it would only be about the unusual opening hours but then again, that's partly due to us travelling from Glencoe so no harm, no foul.

Bonus: look up when you go into the toilets :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very good food, value for money. It was quiet when we first went in but as we left the place was full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar & Spice also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Sugar & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar & Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.