We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome in Ft William!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Save
You added Braeside House to your Saves list
Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates
Ranked #7 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
Virginia, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome in Ft William!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked just one night in Fort William because we had reservations on the Jacobite Steam Train ride the next day. Aileen and Paul gave us a warm welcome. We got to park the car right in the driveway, which was great. Paul gave us directions for the staircases down to the restaurant area, and had menus for many of the restaurants so we could get an idea which places might interest us. Very nice! We ended up at Crannog Restaurant, a seafood place right on the water. Enjoyed a great breakfast in Braeside's lovely sunroom breakfast room, visiting with a couple from Wisconsin who were also heading to the train that day. We were a bit nervous about finding the train station, and Aileen was wonderful about printing us some maps to help us find our way. It worked out fine! I agree with other comments about it feeling like we were staying with friends, not hosts! Thanks for a great stay! We would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Where to start? I knew from the beginning , even before I had confirmed my booking I knew I had stumbled across the right place ( with a little help from Trip Advisor). Their organisation, their eagerness to please and accommodate made me feel happy with my initial booking. I explained that I was to propose to my girlfriend on the planned trip, and their excitement was greater than mine! Their suggestions in booking meals and things to do were helpful in the overall planning.
On arrival, their initial warm welcome after the long drive up made us feel safe and at home. having been lead to our room, which was spotless, tastefully decorated and elegant, I knew I had made the right choice!
Their personal touches, their company, and their hospitality made us feel at home and like royalty at the same time. We are well travelled, having stayed in hotels, BnB's and etc, but for the first time we felt that not only did we want to return here, again and again but also wanted to tell everyone to visit them as well.
Location was perfect, close to ben nevis and walking distance to town centre
Thank you Paul and Aileen , for making it such a special and memorable weekend
ps the breakfast was amazing
pps the views were amazing
ppps everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in August and Paul and alieen were most helpful. On arrival there was a bottle of wine and a card to celebrate my 50th birthday. They also looked after our dog for the day so we could go on the Jacobite steam train. They were really thoughtful and nothing was too much for them. They also do a great breakfast. So much choice and cooked fresh. It really is brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on vacation a few weeks ago, and the Braeside House couldn't have been a better place to spend our first 2 nights in Scotland! Paul and Aileen are the ultimate hosts...they were more like friends than innkeepers. They have an incredible knowledge of the area, so definitely ask them for advice and thoughts. The rooms were lovely, and the breakfasts were absolutely amazing! (How can you not love freshly baked bread every morning??) The Braeside House has free off-road parking, and it's only a 5-minute walk down to the center of town. We would absolutely stay here again on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Braeside House for 5 nights in family room with lovely views over Loch Linnhe. Paul and Aileen were lovely people and made us feel very welcome. They were very helpful with their local knowledge and had plenty of ideas of things for us to do. We can't wait to go back and will definitely recommend to all our friends and family. Oh,and their homemade wine is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had an excellent 2 nights stay during our bicycle trip,. Nice rooms and good food. Close to town centre and attractions. Quiet and nice neighborhood. Many thanks to Paul and Aileen for taking good care of us. Hoping to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great B and B. . Paul and Aileen were brilliant hosts and great fun . Stayed 2 nights in front room with stunning views over loch Linnhe !! Lovely breakfasts with home made bread . Ideal for town centre and Ben Nevis we loved it lovely area of decking and patio at front which makes the most of Braesides stunning views Breakfast is taken in a conservatory which has superb views too ,Many thanks for a fab stay .

Room Tip: Front double bedroom has lovely views over loch !
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Address: Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.