We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Terrific"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Save
You added Braeside House to your Saves list
Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates
Ranked #7 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Terrific"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well I think it's all been said before but I will add my two h'apporth!
Aileen and Paul are a great couple who will go the extra mile (or hundred) to make sure your stay is as smooth as it can possible be.
They have a lovely, comfortable, spotlessly clean house which has everything you could possibly want (great wi-fi!), the rooms are bright and airy, comfortable beds and ....... breakfasts to last you hours, - fresh fruit, yoghurt and any variation on the "full Scottish", delicious pastries, wonderful home made bread, oooo, I could go on.
Wish we could have stayed longer - that says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Well this was a great place to stay, everything is top notch, easy off street parking, and lovely rooms, the one we had looked out over the lake and would be the choice if availabe. The hosts were lovely people to deal with, very friendly and we shared a wee dram with Paul. It's an easy walk into town for shopping / pubs / or the Jacobite train, not quite so easy on the way back as there's quite a few stairs to climb, but a short cab ride. We would definitely return should we be in Fort William again

Room Tip: Choose the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I accidentally left behind a jacket, and discovered it missing when I returned to the States.

I emailed Braeside. They promptly confirmed that they indeed were holding the jacket for me. I gave them my States address, and offered to pay shipping.

They put it in the mail, and it soon appeared on my doorstep. They graciously declined my offer to pay shipping.

Even a 5-Star hotel would not have shown this level of friendliness and courtesy. I was most impressed. They have a First Class B & B too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about this place is top notch. Paul and Aileen were more than helpful with every question. We stayed two nights and would have liked to stay longer. The location is the best overall for exploring Western Scotland, and both Paul and Aileen are a font of information regarding this. We might be biased in that they share our interests of birding and hiking (walking). The breakfast was the best of our ten day trip, and we had several good breakfasts this trip-in fact both breakfasts were amazing. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have just had a three night stay at Braeside House. Good location being just a ten minute walk to the town or a two minute drive with easy parking at Morrisons supermarket car park which is also next to the bus and train station. Very nice en-suite room with great views. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Aileen and Paul to ensure a comfortable stay, including any special diet needs such as gluten and dairy free. They were also very good at suggesting the best places to visit as there is so much in the area to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family and I stayed for one night June 29th after climbing Ben Nevis. We agree with all previous reviews. The hosts were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was outstanding. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone staying in Fort Williams.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night and were given the warmest welcome we could have wished for. The room, the view and the breakfast were top notch! Aileen and Paul are lovely people and made the last day of our holiday very memorable :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Address: Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.