We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braeside House" Fort William” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Save
You added Braeside House to your Saves list
Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates
Ranked #7 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
Argyll
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Braeside House" Fort William”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here one night en route to Mull. This is a much more scenic route than via Oban!
Nice big room, plenty of hanging space. Whole house was lovely and warm (good if weather a bit damp!) Had access to wi-fi and large plasma TV.
Breakfast was brilliant - the usual choices, plus smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Delicious!
Would definitely come back here, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham Victoria Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. Paul and Aileen were terrific hosts and have a great knowledge of the area. The room was very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was in the conservatory and lovely and sunny and very well cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellbrook , ohio
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are 5 mature adults who spent three days at Braeside House in late may. The rooms were excellent with comfortable beds and good size.We were close to town and the train station but in a very quiet area. You will need a car to really enjoy this region and there is ample parking. The showers were soothing with powerful spray. The breakfast was good with a full British/irish menu. Good portions and very good taste.Our hosts ,Paul and Aileen , gave us good advice, suggested several very good restaurants where we ate and made us feel at home. Fort William is 5 minutes walking distance and has several good restaurants and interesting shops. We took the gondola near Ben Nevis for a great view of the area. The drive through Glen Coe is a must-visually stunning. We also drove to Urquart Castle near Loch Ness and then drove to beautiful Glen Affric. We stopped at a hotel named Letterfinley on the way to the castle for a great meal with an incredible view of the snow covered mountains.You could easily spend a week at Fort William and only touch the surface. However, the stay was made most memorable by our hosts. Pictures do not do the breakfast room justice. It is really a wonderful way to start the day.You will not meet anyone more engaging than Paul and Aileen. They made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: the first rooms you enter the side of the house was very roomy. all the rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 1 night at the end of a walking holiday. The room we stayed in was a good size, very nicely decorated, and had stunning views out to the loch. Breakfast was lovely in the conservatory, again looking out to the loch. The food was very good, and it was a nice touch to have homemade bread on offer. Our hosts were really warm and friendly, and even gave us a lift with our luggage down to the guesthouse we were staying in the next day on the other side of town. Cracking place, I can't imagine there's a better B&B to stay at in Fort William.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

These guys really know how to make you feel welcome. We are cycling John O' Groats to Lands End, we arrived wet and tired. Paul & Aileen made us feel immediately welcome by drying us off and putting our bikes away for us.
The place is very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with superb views across the Loch.
The superfast broadband (40meg+) allowed us to easily update our maps and contact friends.
Overall a great place and really nice hosts, keep it up and you will do really well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Normanton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

BRAESIDE HOUSE is a great place to stay, just a few minutes walk into town, & you will be made very welcome by hosts Paul & Aileen.
Nothing is too much trouble for them; they will advise on places to visit, restaurants to eat in etc. Rooms are immaculate, including TV, coffee making facilities & hairdryer. Breakfast is exceptional (we couldn't manage any lunch - just a drink). Breakfast is eaten in the conservatory overlooking Loch Linnhe - sensational views. Can't recommend highly enough - will definitely return..

Room Tip: Great views of Loch Linne overlooking bedroom 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came here dripping wet having just finished the West Highland Way. Aileen and Paul took our wet things and dried them, and gave us a really warm welcome. They cannot do enough for you! Easily the best B&B experience we have had for many years.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Address: Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.