We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of a Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rates
Ranked #3 of 115 Fort William B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definition of a Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The only place to stay in Fort William in our opinion... Fantastic hosts, picked up from the station, and loads to do from the door step. We will definitely be returning. A wealth of information and a perfect brekky. a flask provided, and clothes washed too!!
Back in Sheffield, only wishing we was back in fort bill! Thanks again for the fantastic break we really needed at your home, we will see you soon!
Other b&bs take note, we didn't just want to return, we wanted to move in..
shame about the pool though.. i little too big for my liking and cold...
and the fitness center is all around you when you step out of the door!! what could be better!!

Room Tip: the rooms on the inside are warmer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
124
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

As with most of the earlier reviews here there is little negative to say about Braeside and Aileen & Paul.
We were picked up from the bus station by Aileen and warmly welcomed by both. Our room was beautiful and the breakfasts set us up for the day's adventures. We were even provided with a flask of tea which was very handy on a windy day in Glen Nevis.
During our four night stay we were made to feel very much at home and would have no qualms in wholeheartedly recommending Braeside House to anyone considering a visit to Fort William

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marie and I took a 3 days week-end at the Braeside House to go skiing and trekking in Glen Nevis valley. Paul & Aileen have a gem of a B&B, brilliant views, excellent breakfast, great room but most of all are very very nice people who will go the extra mile to help out. Thank you for the ride, the chat by the open fire and all the little tips along the way. I know where I will try to stay next time I come for mountain biking or trekking!
And Sorry it took me so long to put a review :-)
Olivier&Marie

Room Tip: If you are lucky to get space in the river looking view bedroom, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The BEST B&B I've stayed in. Nothing has competed with the
value for money, clean as a whistle place, the view of the lock,
lovely rooms. Excellent position for all types of things from Skiing
to sightseeing the very friendly and helpful owners, Paul and Aileen.
Quite simply - the excellence rating from this site says it all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said? Paul and Aileen were amazing hosts. We only stayed one night in September 2012 (two days before our wedding in Edinburgh!), but they made such an impression on us that we will surely be back again on our next Scotland trip.

Paul was so sweet -- when I pulled into the driveway (after driving for 6 hours on windy roads, so I was exhausted!) I pulled in and scraped the side of the rental car on a brick. He greeted us and helped us inside, and even buffed the scratch out of the rental car!

We met some great Australian guests at Braeside house who ended up coming to our wedding two days later in Edinburgh! We all sat outside and enjoyed a couple glasses of wine at the end of the evening.

The room was comfy and cozy, and Aileen's breakfast was amazing the next morning, with lots of yummy sweetbreads and made to order eggs.

The location is great (lots of stairs down to the city, which are great on the way to dinner/drinks, and not even so bad on the way back up, because by then you've had a couple pints!) We paid the least amount here of all the B&Bs we had in Scotland, and thought it was the best.

Do yourself a favor and stay here, you won't regret it for a second!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in July '12, whilst on a whistle stop tour of Scotland. We had spent the day climbing Ben Nevis and were exhausted and hungry by the time we reached the B&B. But again to replicate what others have said, the owners were lovely, very warm and welcoming and clearly love what they do and this makes a big difference. We had the room at the front of the cottage(which is the one with the amazing view). I think and you may need to double check this, but there are other rooms at the back of the cottage which i believe dont have the view, but do have bigger bathrooms. I would always go for view over size of the bathroom. So if you feel the same i would try and request the view room, if its free!

Again parkings great, easy walking distance to centre of town, good restaurant recommendations, clean and comfortable accommodation. Its the kind of place I dont think I would of found, if not for trip advisor. Alot of the other B&B's are on the main road as you enter the town, and although are right near the loch, they are also on the main road. This place is away from the traffic slightly up hill from the loch (hence the view).

Room Tip: get the one with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here on a short highland trip and were very impressed by the good service. The room was nice and very clean with a lovely view over the loch. Owners were very welcoming and helpfull. The breakfast was very good with again the brilliant view over the loch. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Address: Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Braeside House to your Saves list