We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taransay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taransay
Save
You added Taransay to your Saves list
Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH336RJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
buckinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“LOVELY B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really Lovely b & B, charming and helpful hosts, great location, there are loads of places all along the main road, but this b & b was up a short incline behind the b & b`s on the road so has the advantage of a fabulous view from the breakfast room and no noise from the road traffic. Extremely clean and all the rooms were spacious and comfortable. would recommend to any-one staying in Fort William.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
59
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had an excellent two-night stay here (October 2012). The room was clean and comfortable, with an excellent, roomy en suite. The breakfast was well cooked and filling (and the unique Scottish cold platter option is very worthy of consideration as well!). The view from the breakfast room, looking out over Loch Linnhe from an elevated position, was a great statrt to the day as well. The owners are warm and welcoming: we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were made to feel welcome; they were very helpful in directing us to places of interest and where to eat. Not only were the owners friendly but the views were stunning.

Although we only stayed for the weekend, we will make more of it next time. It is centred around many sights in the highlands, if only we had more time to see them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at this B&B. Paul, the owner was very welcoming and runs the B&B to a very high standard. Friendly, clean, efficiently run and perfectly located. I cannot fault anything about this B&B whatsoever. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Taransay, 10 out of 10.
Paul was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were recently decorated and were very clean. The views out of the breakfast room were stunning. Taransay is slightly up on the from the main street where the other B&B's are but only 5 minute walk. Look forward to staying again in the near future.
Thank you again Paul. Best Regards, Gordon.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very high standard, fantastic views over the lake, a calm place without any trafic and there is only a short walk to reach the center of Fort William. The breakfast was very good!

Unfortenatelly we had only time to stay one night here in Fort William. I recomend you to book several nights, to have time to experience the fantastic nature and available events.

We felt very welcome and Paul was eager to tell us about the best outings for the short time we had planned in Fort William. We chosed to visit Glen Nevis, which proved to be a beautiful valley!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our spotless room. The owner was very friendly and clearly had good attention to detail. Breakfast was excellent with a great cooked breakfast but also a selection of tasty lighter options including their own unique museli. The view from the breakfast room was beautiful. Definitely our favourite b&b of our trip, enough to stop off again on our way back home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taransay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taransay

Address: Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH336RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taransay is a 4 star B&B in Fort William. We provide a really friendly helpful service. Stay in our ensuite lochview rooms (1 single,1 family and one twin), or our brand new spacious single room with private bathroom and 4 foot bed overlooking our garden. Enjoy our delicious locally sourced full breakfast whether cooked or our venison charcuterie and cheese platter (in season),in our recently updated attractive dining room with stunning Loch Linnhe views. We are situated in an elevated position, in a quiet cul-de-sac, with free car parking and spectacular views over Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour Hills and Mountains. We are a pleasant walk of around 15 mins. along the shores of the Loch to the town where there are plenty of Restaurants, Pubs, Supermarkets and Shops. We have free wifi. We accept children aged 5 and over. We do hope you choose us for your special break, business trip or holiday. Everyone at Taransay will try and make your stay a brilliant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taransay Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taransay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.