We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grog & Gruel

The Grog & Gruel
66 High Street, Fort William PH49 6AE, Scotland
01397 705078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great food, good beer and a relaxed atmosphere in our Traditional Alehouse & Restaurant located on Fort William's pedestrianised High Street.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good food, great for real ale and whisky lovers, friendly staff, good prices and located on the hihg street. Well worth a visit or two.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    229
    291
    63
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A good recommendation from land lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very good pub grub and a great choice of real ales. It was nice to see a nearly full pub on a Tuesday night.
Also NO TV - great!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous beer, fabulous atmosphere, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is THE place in Fort William, although to be honest I didn't try any others - none of them looked appealing, and when you have found the Grog, why look any further?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loads of different beers (real ale), & good food to go with it, all in a great atmosphere. What more can I say!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting Combo of Old-world pub and Tex Mex Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After getting over the strange mix of downstairs old world pub and upstairs bright Tex-Mex restaurant we really enjoyed it.

Downstairs pub is worth the trip along. Real Ales, good scotch prices, knowledgeable staff and the ability to try the Ales before buying made it a winner. Don't expect to just walk in and order a Corona - this is a real ale speciality spot.

It was hopping the night we were there, but very friendly and fast service along with friendly 'regulars' , made us feel welcomed from the time we walked in (as obvious tourists). We had put our name in upstairs in the Tex-Mex grill (as it was recommended to us) and were able to wait down in the pub. Nice touch.

The Tex Mex was done very well (and fresh). Best Tex mex we have had in UK (but honestly, we have only tried a few as we get get great mexican at home). The Boar Chili was excellent, The burger was very very good and Quesadilla was decent (hard to make these fantastic). The Ales and Scotch choices are also served upstairs in the restaurant.

Casual and fun atmosphere and staff with very good food. I'd call that a winner for an evening of chilling out after a long drive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grog & Gruel also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Grog & Gruel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grog & Gruel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.