We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Comfortable Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gantocks B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Gantocks B&B to your Saves list
The Gantocks B&B
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Comfortable Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed at the Gantocks with my partner for a bit of luxury after walking the West Highland Way. The owners were unfazed by me warning them we might arrive with muddy packs (we had camped) and willingly took delivery of our suitcase of clean clothes that we sent with a baggage carrier. Upon our arrival Sandra provided us with a pot of tea and homemade shortbread - I believe they do this for all their guests but she went out of her way to do this for us because they were suffering from a freak power cut at the time! The room was very comfortable with a king size bed, although the mattress could perhaps do with being replaced. The en-suite bathroom was spacious and the shower very powerful. We had a room at the front so had a lovely view over Loch Linhe. The windows were double-glazed so there was no significant traffic noise from the road. Breakfasts were very generous and included home-baked scones and oatcakes. The owners were polite and interested in all their guests without being overbearing. It made a lovely end to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Highly recommend The Gantocks. Sandy and Allen know what they're doing and are the friendliest of proprietors. Breakfast selection is excellent as is the food itself. You won't leave hungry. The room is spacious with huge ensuite. The house itself is a 10 minute walk from town along the gorgeous loch whose views are unobstructed from the dining room and small outdoor terrace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Gantocks deserves it's five star Bed and Breakfast status. 10 mintues walk,south,from the town centre of Fort William. If you are walking on Ben Nevis this is the ideal location. We were a party of 4 and the hospitality from Alan and Sandra Henderson was superb, tea and biscuits when we arrived, rooms en suite to outclass many 5 star hotels, large double beds,clean and fresh, power shower tea and coffee facilities in the room, hairdryer etc. Packed lunch for our Nevis climb was fresh prepared and tea supplied for our flasks. The breakfast was a choice of full Scottish fry with black and white pudding, bacon, saussage and egg, preceeded with home made porrige & honey, orange juice,grapefruit and hot fresh scones straight from from the oven, served with butter and jam. On day 2 we had fresh Scottish smoked kippers, outstanding .One point to remember,checkout is 10.30am. If you are planning to stay in Fort William don't bother to look around, this place hits the spot, it is a lovely, quality,B+B.
Bernard & Patricia McNally, N.Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We managed to obtain a last minute booking due to cancellation at the Gantocks Self Catering cottage next door to the B&B. We did not wish to "risk" Fort William again with just a tent (that leaked). We most impressed with the luxury of the accommodation, the quality of the equipment, furniture, infact everything! The most amazing view of Loch Linnhe greets you every morning and every time you look out of the windows. Sandra greeted us and showed us around and how to work everything - including the cosy electric Aga. We had the most luxurious week in Scotland we have ever had and were all able to get out of the midges if needed. Allan and Sandra definitely know how to run an excellent hospitality business and know exactly what their guests want and expect. Excellent powerful showers, spa bath for those aching limbs after long walks and best of all the Emperor sized bed in the main bedroom. The best sleeps we have had in years! Although our laptop could not pick up their wi Fi connection in the cottage, Sandra suggested we come to their breakfast room (B&B) next door whenever we needed to use the internet. Needless to say, we will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My teenage daughter and I were having a girly activity couple of days in the Fort William/Glencoe area and were delighted that The Gantocks was available. It did not disappoint in any way. The welcome was warm and included 'would you like a cup of tea?' which we thought was very nice. The setting is beautiful and our suite felt like being in a boat or like being in a picture postcard. It could not be surpassed, I would suggest, anywhere in Europe. The suite was 'wow' factor. It was stunning and beautifully set up for your arrival. It is quite obvious the hosts have excellent taste in high quality and luxury accomodation. Breakfast was again very warm and welcoming, delicious and the matching local crockery was beautiful. Warm scones, porridge: oh, it just warms the heart to remember. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I were very lucky to have been referred by another B&B to Gantock's. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable king bed...providing a great night's sleep. The bath was just as nice as the bedroom, with a very powerful shower and high quality towels. Our hosts made us very comfortable and welcome--we really enjoyed our conversation with Mr. Henderson and Mrs. Henderson provided us with a gourmet breakfast. (My fruit salad was so pretty that it should have been on the cover of a magazine....rather than on my plate). We thank them kindly for sharing their home with us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We had a very pleasant two night stay here. Allan and Sandra were very welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. The room was nicely furnished, very comfortable and very clean with a nice view of the loch. The breakfasts were excellent - lots of choice and very tasty. Fort William town centre is about a 15 minute walk away along the loch-side road. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gantocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gantocks B&B

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Gantocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gantocks B&B Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gantocks B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.