We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rustic pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis Inn

Ben Nevis Inn
Claggan | Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
+44 1397 701227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic rustic pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A real must to eat good wholesome food and a stunning view from the foothills of Ben nevis. Great place

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    175
    37
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lauder, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in an amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very good food in a fantastic location with views to some of Scotlands finest mountains. Throw in the excellent service and friendly atmoshere and you have a great evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a lunch meal yesterday (tuesday) and despite a crowd of thirsty and hungry bikers in front of us we were served very quickly. The food presentation was outstanding and the food was fresh, very tasty and great value for money. Highly recommended and will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
2 reviews
“Great place to end a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had dinner here after walking 23 miles of the West Highland Way - it was definitely worth the walk! There was a great atmosphere - long tables where lots of people are sat together and live music. The huge window at the end of the room gives an unparalleled view of Ben Nevis.
We had the goats cheese and beetroot pasta and the lamb casserole. The pasta was very tasty - a good balance of flavour and looked impressive. The casserole was warm and savoury although it perhaps could have done with some different flavours and the lamb was a bit fatty for our liking.
The staff were all very friendly and the service was prompt.
We would definitely go back to the inn and try some of their other dishes which looked very good as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a great meal for 6 people at the Ben Nevis Inn, food is excellent and great value and the staff are friendly even when rushed off their feet. The entertainment added to the atmosphere, all in all a great night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Inn also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.