We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Homey and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fort William Backpackers to your Saves list
Fort William Backpackers
Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
“Comfortable, Homey and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Never did I expect a kind of trip like this. Both the Manager and Receptionist were more than accommodating and the staff were so friendly. The beds were so comfortable and the kitchen has a good amount of space.
The lounge has a gorgeous place to sit, facing the windows and watching the sun rise on one of those rare blue days in the Highlands, the packing a small bag and jumping off into an adventure or two up the glen.
Come back and eat a warm meal with newly made friends and shared adventures and even travel tips.
The showers were warm and clean and we even got taken out on the town to the local pubs and I felt like I got the true Scottish experience.

Cheers to Fort William Backpackers, the best place to stay in Fort William. Defiantly coming back, because "They always come back."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
15
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights while checking out a local offshore training school. I had no problem getting sleep, in fact I almost slept in on the morning I had to go to the school, leaving me just 15 minutes to get down there after a very good night's sleep. The staff are pleasant and helpful and there is a kitchen that is well stocked with tea, coffee and other niceties for you to use at any time of the day. The rooms are well kept and the toilet and shower facilities are clean. All in all, a very well run hostel with a laid back and friendly atmosphere with very reasonable rates. 5/5

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed in one of the shared dorm rooms for one night. Even though we were only there for one night we were made to feel incredibly welcome and at home. The host Rob was friendly and gave great advice for the next leg of our trip. The scones in the morning were the best scones we had our whole trip. If I had known how great this hostel would be I would have taken more time in Fort Willam. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hey! I'm french, so sorry in advance for my english!
I spent 2 nights last week there and it was really nice! It's a house so it's really friendly, the manager is so kind, he asks you what are your plans and bring together with others people in the hostel who have the same plans as you. Like that it's really easy to meet people!
He can also (if you're lucky ^^), give you a lift, cook some pastas and bacon and even some ice cream "home made"! (or almost!)
It's really clean (well done staff!) and the atmosphere is so cool!
Nice view from the living room.. So it's a nice place to stay in Fort William!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly place. Staff are very nice and it's small size makes it easy to meet people. Kitchen is a bit small, but it has everything you need to cook. Breakfast is a bit skimpy, but does the job (cereal, bread, tea/coffee, scones). Tea/coffee/hot chocolate free all day.
Rooms are a bit small and no lockers for your stuff, but you can leave laptops etc., behind reception if you like, but I honestly wasn't worried about my stuff. As it's a small, friendly place, you don't have to worry about theft.
Great chill out room with a real fire - perfect for reading and chatting to other travelers. Music played in hostel is mostly pretty cool. Lovely views of local area.
Great location, only 5 mins walk from train station and 20 mins from start of Ben Nevis trek.
It's an old building, but that's also it's charm.
I liked it there and if I'm in the area again would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was the hostel with most attitude and best atmosphere that I visited in my trip! The staff is the most friendly and helpful too! highly recommended. Good location! cute house and again, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The most relaxed, fun hostel on my hike! Great facilities, even better people running it...
Nothing was too much and they're a font of local knowledge. Great open fire in the evening and always someone to have a chat with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort William Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Backpackers

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Highlands, surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery lies Fort William, the Outdoor Capital of the UK and a mecca for those with a spirit of adventure. Nestling on a hillside above the town, with wonderful views, our characterful and comfy hostel provides everything you'll need after a day in the hills. In the evening put your feet up in our sociable, elegant lounge in front of a real fire or stroll down to the choice of local pubs and restaurants that are literally minutes away. You can start (or end) the 'West Highland Way' & the 'Great Glen Way' in Fort William, hike or bike along mountain trails, canoe or kayak on the vast array of local water, go for a boat trip on Loch Linnhe to visit the seals or just take it easy amidst the wonderful scenery. Even in winter Fort William stays busy with skiing, snow-boarding, mountaineering & ice-climbing all nearby to our fantastic location.Ben Nevis - Britain's highest mountain, sits just around the corner and below it, Glen Nevis - perhaps Scotland's prettiest glen, with its wonderful waterfalls and ancient pine forest. Dramatic and eerie, Glencoe & Glenfinnan, and the Ice Factor in Kinlochleven also await a few miles down the road and make excellent day trips from the hostel. Our friendly award winning staff are committed to ensuring you make the most out of your time in Fort William. They also LOVE the outdoors and can give you their 'top tips' to help you plan your adventure. Whether you plan to chill out or perhaps test your skills on a World Cup mountain bike trail...Fort Willy Backpackers is the place for you! Fort William Backpackers is a beautiful Victorian building with a fun, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We know how important it is to be able to relax after a hard days exploring and our cosy hostel is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries and share the tales of your adventures.We have a fabulous, elegant lounge with a REAL open fire and probably the best view in town! Our fully equipped self-catering kitchen comes complete with everything you will need to prepare your meals & packed lunches and you can help yourself to as much FREE tea, coffee & hot chocolate as you can drink!If the weather's good, we'll be outside enjoying our patio area either having a BBQ or sitting around the fire pit enjoying the stars so come and join us. Our accommodation is made up of 5 Dormitory Rooms ,with a maximum of 8 beds in each room, and one private Twin Room. All of our beds are fully made up with fitted linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. Our hostel reception is open from 7am - 12pm & 5pm - 10.30pm. If you arrive in the afternoon, please feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and relax in our comfy lounge. We will check you in when we re-open at 17.00. We look forward to welcoming you to Fort William and our cosy hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Fort William Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Backpackers Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.