We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Fort William Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort William Backpackers
Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would Recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Fort William backpackers

I would definitely stay here again.

I arrived, as most people do, very weary and bruised from a long mountainous slog.
At first I was a little sceptical of the bohemian vibe but was soon relaxing into comfortable chairs, reading and taking advantage of the free tea , coffee and Wifi with a nice view over the town.

It's a busy place and its converted from a large old house so some of the facilities and rooms are a little pokey and they could do with more fridge space but the Pros really outweigh this.

Very good people and a great serve yourself breakfast for 2 pounds, close to town and more decent birds than all the other hostels I stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
12
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

went up to conquer the mighty Ben Nevis and was looking for somewhere cheap and close by. Fort Willie Backpackers fit the bill. One of the party cancelled so i rang and asked if my 15 year old daughter was ok to come along as she was not game for any moutains and would be staying at the hostel, that was no problem and they looked after her in our absence. very friendly staff and a great vibe. only downside was the smell of feet from the other 3 room occupants which i guess it the risk you take sharing haha. would recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and daughter. We're in our 40's and our daughter is 13. Fun, friendly, warm, inviting, cozy, and full of laughter. Kudos to Robert the Great, whom I think is the best manager I've ever seen. He keep everyone smiling with his joking and superb friendliness. He's into giving 100% service. Making sure the fire is on, the dishes are cleaned, and that everyone is having a good time. I would recommend this place to any traveler, young or old. My daughter love it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at a few backpackers all around Scotland and this was by far the best I've ever stayed in. I was here for over a week and loved every minute of it. Very cosy place with a great lounge room, fire is on most nights, and really nice comfortable dorm rooms. The beds are good quality and all the rooms (I moved around because I kept wanting to stay longer) were large enough to always have a good space for your luggage. It's located less than 10 minutes walk from the station, buses, supermarket, post office and pub which was really convenient. Great hill walks close to the backpackers and a beautiful secluded river 15 - 20 minutes away! The rooms and bathrooms are always super clean which surprised me for such a big house. Staff were always friendly and happy, I even heard from another guest that the receptionist, Brent, went out of his way to help a guest who had arrived very much outside reception hours. The manager, Rob, is a climber so he had good local knowledge about the area and was always available to help with questions even out of work hours. The staff also do BBQ's if there's a lot of people and everyone chips in a fiver for a huge amount of amazing food. At first the kitchen seemed a bit small but I've never had to wait to use any appliances so that was fine. Great place for solo travelers, although I met 2 families and a lot of couples who enjoyed their stay too. Loved visiting Fort William, beautiful town with a lot of hidden activities to find. Hope to revisit this backpackers in the future!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend stay in Fort William where we climbed Ben Nevis for the first time. We stayed at the hostel and were more than happy with the welcome, enthusiasm, encouragement, information and humour offer by the staff and fellow residents. It was my friends first hostel experience and at 40+ we were both delighted with the mix of age groups as we thought this was just for the younger generation.

The hostel is well situated close to the town and railway station. It is a dated building with basic facilities that offers lots of character. We both felt very at home and well taken care of. A special thanks to Robert who made our stay very enjoyable indeed. I think everyone should have a Fort william Backpacker experience.

Room Tip: Our accomadation was a twin room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went there for two days. This seems to be one of those hostels where travel ambitions come to die - met a lot of people there who came to stay for two or three days but ended up staying for weeks and weeks, not really doing anything (cause what can you do in Fort William after a couple of days?). And it's easy to see why: The whole place is very homy and comfortable, the staff, guests and atmosphere are great, very laid back, friendly, relaxed and definitely a little crazy. Lots of interesting and open-minded people from all over the world, very easy to swap interesting travel stories here. Staff was very helpful and gave lots of tips on what to do and stuff. I'd definitely recommend going there to any backpacker between 20 and 30.

Rooms, beds and breakfast (for an extra 2 pounds, I think) were all fine, linens were included. Very few toilets and showers, however (I think three of each für 38 beds or something?) but seemed to be enough. What I did miss, though, was a locker. Apart from that, everything was great and I'd go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Fort William backpackers mainly because the small size promoted a lot of conversation between guests and and the staff were really friendly and helpful with advice about the best ways to explore the area. So friendly in fact, that on both nights I was there, the manager and the receptionist could be found by the fire pit in the backyard with the guests into the wee hours of the morning. I am a good sleeper, so was able to sleep through the noise. But if you weren't a good sleeper, it would be hard to complain to the manager about the noise they themselves were contributing to. Location is also in favour of this hostel - 8 mins up from the train/bus station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort William Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Backpackers

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Highlands, surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery lies Fort William, the Outdoor Capital of the UK and a mecca for those with a spirit of adventure. Nestling on a hillside above the town, with wonderful views, our characterful and comfy hostel provides everything you'll need after a day in the hills. In the evening put your feet up in our sociable, elegant lounge in front of a real fire or stroll down to the choice of local pubs and restaurants that are literally minutes away. You can start (or end) the 'West Highland Way' & the 'Great Glen Way' in Fort William, hike or bike along mountain trails, canoe or kayak on the vast array of local water, go for a boat trip on Loch Linnhe to visit the seals or just take it easy amidst the wonderful scenery. Even in winter Fort William stays busy with skiing, snow-boarding, mountaineering & ice-climbing all nearby to our fantastic location.Ben Nevis - Britain's highest mountain, sits just around the corner and below it, Glen Nevis - perhaps Scotland's prettiest glen, with its wonderful waterfalls and ancient pine forest. Dramatic and eerie, Glencoe & Glenfinnan, and the Ice Factor in Kinlochleven also await a few miles down the road and make excellent day trips from the hostel. Our friendly award winning staff are committed to ensuring you make the most out of your time in Fort William. They also LOVE the outdoors and can give you their 'top tips' to help you plan your adventure. Whether you plan to chill out or perhaps test your skills on a World Cup mountain bike trail...Fort Willy Backpackers is the place for you! Fort William Backpackers is a beautiful Victorian building with a fun, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We know how important it is to be able to relax after a hard days exploring and our cosy hostel is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries and share the tales of your adventures.We have a fabulous, elegant lounge with a REAL open fire and probably the best view in town! Our fully equipped self-catering kitchen comes complete with everything you will need to prepare your meals & packed lunches and you can help yourself to as much FREE tea, coffee & hot chocolate as you can drink!If the weather's good, we'll be outside enjoying our patio area either having a BBQ or sitting around the fire pit enjoying the stars so come and join us. Our accommodation is made up of 5 Dormitory Rooms ,with a maximum of 8 beds in each room, and one private Twin Room. All of our beds are fully made up with fitted linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. Our hostel reception is open from 7am - 12pm & 5pm - 10.30pm. If you arrive in the afternoon, please feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and relax in our comfy lounge. We will check you in when we re-open at 17.00. We look forward to welcoming you to Fort William and our cosy hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Fort William Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Backpackers Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.