We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kildonan B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kildonan B&B
Save
You added Kildonan B&B to your Saves list
Station Road, Fort William PH33 7JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Playa de Gandia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Tom and Kathleen were the most hosts of our trip.
The day we arrived, we were lost and Tom was to look for us to a petrol station and Kathleen was like a mother with us. We asked her about a typical Scottish delicious cookies that she gave us away.
The were very kind.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schriesheim, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The B&B is easy to find, in a quiet location.Nice to walk along the caledonian canal and view the mountains . We experienced a very warm welcome and were helped to plan our two day stay. Comfortable and clean room, nice breakfast and alway helpful and chatty hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Tom and Kathleen are extremely kind persons. From the very first minute we felt ourselves as we were at home. They were very kind with us, and very, very helpfull.
The bedroom is spacious, nice, and very, very clean. All the house is plenty of nice details and the Caledonian Canal just in front of the house is marvellous as well as the views.
Really, the only negative aspect is that we had decided to stay only for one day. If I had to travel again, I'd choose Kildonan House at Corpach (Fort William) as the central point to visit the surroundings for some days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Since we arrived at the B&B we were warmly welcomed by most friendliest hosts (Kathleen & Tom) I have ever come across. They were very polite and friendly with a lot of helpful tips in planning our visits in Scotland. Everything was at near perfection, rooms were spotless and breakfast was on time as well as well prepared. They made our stay in Corpach very pleasant and if we were to visit Scotland again without a doubt “Kildonan B&B” will be our 1st choice. We would recommend this place to any one!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Leaving from Isle of Skye, I received a call by the owners asking when we will get to Fort William. I was told by the owners, Isle of Skye to Fort William would take 2hr to 2.5hrs. On our satnav it actually stated that it would take over 3hrs. We left at 7:30pm and did not arrive till 11:30pm. During the drive at about 10:30pm we received another call from the owner asking where we were, as it was pitch black with no road signs, we said we did not know, and were following our satnav, to which her reply was along the lines of “I never trust satnav’s”.

When we finally arrived at the B&B, we were in for a huge shock! Instead of having 2 rooms booked, only 1 was available. When booking I had specifically asked for 2 rooms as there were 4 of us, and for late check-in as we wanted to use as much of the available day-light hours to see the beauties of Scotland.

As if having only 1 room available was not bad enough, the lady owner started complaining that we were late and blaming us for the whole problem, we were not even blaming her for the mistake, we only wanted to resolve the problem amicably so that we had at least somewhere to sleep for the night. Her comments included “In what godly hour do you call this?”, “Have you heard of a phone, why didn’t you call us”, “I could have driven to ENGLAND in that time” and regarding the rooms "I never make mistakes, you asked for one room, maybe you asked elsewhere for 2 rooms, but not here!”.

She would not listen to anything I had to say, I tried to explain the reason for being late, as on the drive we had a near full grown deer run across the dark pitch black road, and having just about slammed on the brakes and missed it, I was driving extremely cautiously for the rest of the drive. Trying to call her the patchy reception makes it difficult. We were dumbfounded with her attitude and behaviour which we felt was very unprofessional and rude, it has made us feel unwelcome in Scotland. This could have ruined our otherwise, warm memories of Scotland.

With absolutely no help from them, except the comment “If you can find a room elsewhere, which I doubt at this time of night, you can come back for the 1 room”, we left the B&B in complete shock and disbelief.

Luckily for us, not everyone was so rude and unhelpful, having driven to a petrol station in town, the kind attendant gave us directions to hotels along the main road, and even tried to help us phone a few of them.

Lesson learnt; make sure you have written confirmation of booking and anything else you require such as late check-in! Sorry for the long review, I am trying to give a full view of our bad experience in the hands of this B&B and sorry for being unable to offer any information of the actual B&B, as we did not even manage to step through the front door. We were left outside in the cold and dead of night to our own devices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittel-Gründau
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was the best accomodation we came across on our Scottish holiday. What a lovely place and what lovely people. Absolutely fantastic! Kathleen was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome from the first moment we arrived. We stayed at Kildonan for three nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Breakfast was, in our opinion the best we had in Scotland. All thanks to Kathleen & Thomas

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyreso, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Ideal for views of the Ben and catching the train to Mallaig or the bus in to Fort William, close to shops and Post office in Corpach and within walking distance of the Lochy Bar. Lovely breakfasts, spotless rooms, real coffee in cafetières - all thoroughly appreciated by my walking groups.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kildonan B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan B&B

Address: Station Road, Fort William PH33 7JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kildonan B&B Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kildonan B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.