We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torlinnhe Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Torlinnhe Guest House to your Saves list
Torlinnhe Guest House
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Longer Stay Discounts!
Ranked #4 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great B&B experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this B&B and loved it! Andy and Sue are attentive, informative hosts. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and modern with a stunning view of the Loch! Breakfast was more than generous. Would definitely reccomend it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
The wonders of mobile technology! Thank you VLBjhb for your very speedy and generous review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us on your way through to Glasgow and your eventual flight home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
195
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our short one-night stay was enjoyable. Room was well decorated, clean, and cozy. Host helped us find a place to replace a blown tire. Breakfast was yummy. Location was convenient and easy to find. The view at breakfast was beautiful (if you ignored the cloudy weather). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Melissa S for your very kind review. It is lovely to see that we managed to meet your expectations and that you would be happy to recommend Torlinnhe in the future. We are glad also that we were able to help with your tyre problem. It was a pity that your stay was so short this time but hopefully we will see you again, and for a little longer, one day soon. There are so many things to see and do that an overnight stop in Fort William is just not long enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very friendly and made us feel very welcome. My wife and were visiting from the US in November 2013. My parents joined us on this trio. Location for Fort William was excellent. Great breakfast. Very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
So glad you all felt welcome Angus1156. We do our best to ensure everybody has a great stay at Torlinnhe. Glad to see we managed 5 blobs for cleanliness even if we fell a little short in your estimation elsewhere! If you have specific suggestions how we might improve the experience we would love to hear them. In the meantime we will continue to try to find ways to develop Torlinnhe and improve our services. We hope to see you again one day in the future but until then enjoy your travels and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is about 20 mins walk from fort William located overlooking a gorgeous loch. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits in the lounge, which has a large panoramic window overlooking the loch.

Our room was lovely - clean, very modern bathroom and comfy bed. Breakfast was also excellent - our choice of dish and a buffet, with fresh fruit salad.

This B&B was one of the larger ones we stayed in on our 2-week trip, and was more corporate/hotel-like and slightly less homely than some of the smaller B&Bs we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Torlinnhe, Londongirl261. We were concerned to see that you felt our service was lacking in some way and would be very grateful if you could contact us privately to help us understand where we fell short in this respect. Our guest experience is our main priority at Torlinnhe and we obviously want to ensure that we improve wherever possible. It was great to hear that you felt our rooms were clean and comfortable and that our breakfast was excellent. We hope that the enjoyment of your stay in Fort William was not diminished by our failure on this occasion to meet the standards of service you were hoping for. We look forward to the chance to earn a fifth blob on your next visit to the Outdoor Capital and to Torlinnhe. Meantime, enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Torlinnhe. Truly excellent! A lovely place, great hosts and a fantastic setting. I have been to the area many times over the years, but this has to be the nicest accommodation I have stayed in. A real treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you Rob M for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed what was hopefully the first of many visits to Torlinnhe. As you have visited the area often in the past you will be aware of all the Outdoor Capital of the UK has to offer to our visitors. Hospitality and comfortable accommodation are just one important element of the overall package. We are blessed with some of the finest scenery in the UK for walking, climbing, sailing, canoeing, skiing and of course just touring around. However you like to do it we have loads of activities all around us and of course hopefully, Torlinnhe as a comfortable and welcoming base each day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having just returned from my fourth visit to Torlinnhe,
I can only say it is the best B&B in Scotland. The hosts, Andy and Sue, the rooms, food, location and local activities are exceptional. Simply the best! William.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much liam d for posting another review. It is really reassuring to hear that we are still managing to maintain standards and that you found Torlinnhe comfortable and relaxing again during your fourth stay. I not sure we can honestly claim to be the BEST B&B in Scotland but we are definitely trying our best to ensure all our guests enjoy their time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyman, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

great place! the hosts were very welcoming. We were greeted at the door, helped to our room and treated with hot tea & coffee (which we took in the dining area with a beautiful view of the loch & mtn). every penny worth the view!

our room was very clean, quaint & comfortable. Have no complaints at all! plenty of parking, with an easy drive into town. would highly recommend and visit again, if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review Anissa B. Good to hear that you felt welcome and that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will be in the area again one day and we look forward to seeing you again then. Meantime, enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Torlinnhe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torlinnhe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.