We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torlinnhe Guest House

Save Saved
You added Torlinnhe Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #5 of 116 Fort William B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been to this B&B last year as well and just had to go back. It already started with the confirmation mail of my booking that mentioned they'd be happy to see me again. Upon arrival, I was once more greeted very warmly by Sue and it felt as if I had only just left there. Breakfast was again absolutely fabulous and those who'd leave their table hungry or either picky eaters or not feeling well. The room was still comfortable, large, the ensuite nice and always perfectly taken care off. Andy was always more than welcome to give tips for a good walking. From now on, this will be my place to stay when I'm going to Fort William.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you again blue_randall for another generous review. It was lovely to see you again, hopefully the first of many return visits for you! Don't forget our loyalty discount will apply to all your future visits and we hope, as the big supermarket says, "every little helps". Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
177
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed from the 23April,2013 for 4nights,it was perfect,our room was lovely,breakfast well,what can I say, if you are on a diet,don't have It, but you are missing out, I loved the black pudding.Andy&Sue were so friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble,if you get a chance book a meal at Russells Hotel in Spean Bridge.The four days in Scotland were perfect, thanks to Andy&Sue

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks len p for your kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. We definitely agree with your recommendation of Russell's restaurant. It is where we often go if we want a really good meal locally. Hope you haven't lost that list of all the things you want to do in the area when you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of March, making train journeys to Mallaig and over Rannock Moor. An excellent base for our journeys. The views over the Loch whilst eating breakfast or relaxing on a comfy settee were great. Sue's breakfasts were superb. Excellent choice....you would need to stay several days to sample it all. Our room had a loch view, was always warm and cosy with an excellent big cubicle shower. One of the best B and B's we've stayed in. We'll be back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
“The perfect B and B”, now there is an accolade we cannot possibly live up to Janet M. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us though. Many thanks for the lovely review. We try as hard as we can to ensure everyone is comfortable and well fed, regardless of their plans for the day. The local train journeys through our mountain and coastal scenery are truly breath taking and in the train you can at least spend the time to watch the scenery roll by without needing to keep an eye on the road ahead! The "Harry Potter" train will be running from Fort William to Mallaig daily from 13th May. Extra special for those who want a really "magical" railway experience. Don't forget to book online well in advance though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The best single room I have stayed in anywhere and that includes 4 star hotels. Spacious room with very comfortable bed and a comfortable chair for relaxing, good sized TV and dvd player, modern and good sized ensuite with quality complimentary shower gel and shampoo.
Very friendly owners and a wonderful breakfast. I stayed here before the Lochaber marathon and my request for porridge that was not on the menu was met with a friendly smile. A selection of fresh berry fruits was also on offer which were excellent. The view of the loch from the breakfast room/ lounge breath taking. If visiting Fort William don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Glad you liked the single room SJones39. We try to make sure that being on your own doesn't mean that you have to feel like you are sleeping in the broom cupboard every night! We do try hard with breakfast so it is rewarding to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable start to the day. Thank you for taking the time to post this kind review of your stay, it is much appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again another year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thank you Sue and Andy once again for a lovely couple of nights-best breakfast anywhere in our experience. Would certainly recommend highly this great B&B. Will definitely be back.

Hazel & Alastair
Lenzie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review Hazel M. We look forward to your next visit whenever you have time to stay for a couple of days. Meantime, we will try to live up to your generous description of our breakfast offering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at Torlinnhe on our way to Skye in April. We were struck by how clean and modern the interior was and had a fab sleep. The bathroom was great, as was our room, and our breakfast was superb! I can't recommend this b&b highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you Hannabella for your kind review and recommendation. Glad you enjoyed your brief stopover and that you slept well. We hope the weather in Skye was as good as it has been here for the last few weeks (that said it is raining today). Hopefully you will get some time to stay in and around Fort William for a little longer next time you are up this way. We promise we will keep you busy with things to do and to see - just tell what you like to do and we will try to point you in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Torlinnhe after completing the West Highland Way. We were greeted on our arrival with tea & biscuits in the lounge, a lovely welcome. Our room for three was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean with a beautiful view over Loch Linnhe. Since we were weary from our long walk, Sue very kindly drove us back to Fort William centre for our evening meal. The breakfast next morning was excellent with a good fresh fruit salad and many different breakfast options. I would heartily recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in Fort William. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation DebbieM843! You were very welcome. We are glad you felt relaxed and comfortable in both the lounge and your room. Sometimes I wonder how we actually get any work done. We sneak a coffee break in the guest lounge around 11 each day and it is sometimes awfully hard to pull ourselves away from the view and go off to do what we need to do. Still we always have the incentive that we can do the same tomorrow so we usually manage it in the end! Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Torlinnhe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torlinnhe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.