We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy, but excellent waiting staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Snow Goose

The Snow Goose
A96 | Stonetfield, Inverness, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 194 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Snow Goose offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Busy, but excellent waiting staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This pub/restaurant is opposite the hotel that I stayed in at Inverness, thus gets busy with the 'passing trade'.

I was shown a nice table in the centre of the restaurant close to the bar and was waited on by a lovely young waitress. However I cannot say the same for her po-faced supervisor/manager, who I found officious.

Towards the end of my meal the restaurant appeared to be getting busier and I noticed that I was left less to my devices - I believe the restaurant were looking to turn around the table, but I had not yet finished my meal, and I found this somewhat uncomfortable and unnecessary.

Food was good quality and plenty of it, but the staff need training on how to make an Irish Coffee properly.

I would use again if I stayed in the hotels close by.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    156
    109
    92
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My 4 friends/colleagues and me dropped in for a spot of light lunch on our way to Culloden battlefield.

The first thing that took us all by surprise was the wonderful interior and furnishings and we all managed to get seated on a big round table not far from the fire.

We only had toasted panini's to eat accompanied by a pint - but it was very good and would definitely call in again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gone downhill since facelift?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Like previous writer we have been there many times in the past. Since changes the quality and portions are terrible. WON'T BE GOING BACK or recommend it to others. Live in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rubbish not a chance to rate -0”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Used to be a favourite place to eat but not any more, service diabolical, rubbish, waited ages for our meals, complained, came away with some excuse about the chef being busy....

2nd time I went back to see if things had changed....


Nope... Won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very pretty and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The snow goose is a very nice building to look at and the outside has nice little touches, and the inside is nice it has a real fire place that gives it a charm, to eat I had wild boar and chorizo burger it was very tasty, overall it's a nice warm place to go and I would recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snow Goose also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Snow Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snow Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.