We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustard Seed Restaurant

Mustard Seed Restaurant
16 Fraser Street, Inverness IV1 1DW, Scotland
+44 (0)1463 220220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were recommended the Mustard Seed by our B&B owner when we arrived in Inverness later on a Sunday than we intended with no plans for dinner. He booked us into this restaurant for 8:45, a bit later than we'd have liked. I was put off at first by the noise (it is VERY noisy) & the fact that we weren't seated until 9:00 but we were given a quit(ish) corner & the waiter was pleasant & efficient. The food wasn't bad either!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    405
    104
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beauly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and very good value lunch menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a regular haunt as the food and service can always be guaranteed and the price is ridiculously cheep for the venue and the qualiity. Views over the Ness are to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
644 helpful votes 644 helpful votes
“Scottish produce - french flair - spot on service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have always been hesitant about Scottish restaurants for the tendency to over-cook, over-fry and not let the produce do the work for itself. Lunch at Mustard Seed yesterday was not like that at all. Our sweet potato soup was certainly not heavy but creamy and balanced. Our sea bass was right in both quantity and gently cooked. The vegies and salad showed care had been taken. The wine list was also attractive (we settled for an Italian Pinot Grigio). Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Night, Excellent Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nothing not to like, best restaurant experience in Inverness to date! Food was exceptional and the service was very good. The atmosphere was really nice as well, all adding to a great night out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

During our journey through Scotland we had dinner here twice. The very friendly service, the special atmospere, decoration but over all the delicous food and the huge offer made us come back. One downside is that you have to make a reservation well in advance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustard Seed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.