We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
1 Ness Walk, Inverness iIV3 5NE, Scotland
+44 1463 717274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Chalford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Made the scenic trek along Loch Ness to Inverness for lunch, having had an abysmal meal at the Boathouse restaurant in Fort Augustus, and had our efforts rewarded by a fantastic lunch with attentive, friendly service overseen by Corr , who made sure our two wee ones were well catered for. She engineered the changes to the menu to suit their tastes, and promptly produced 2 lovely seafood linguine dishes, which we were only too happy to help them finish. Our choices were equally delicious: the Speyside venison was top notch, and the 2 course set menu ( same price as the main offered up at the Boathouse, but at the other end of the spectrum in terms of quality) of meatballs as a starter and sea bream as a main was excellent, as was the pecan pie dessert. We returned back to our lodgings at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club most satisfied, and will make a point of visiting again next time we're up your way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    126
    34
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great start but let down by disappointing mains and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We chose to eat at Rocpool after reading all the good reviews on tripadvisor, and were lucky when we called as we were able to reserve A table (for 6.30pm that same evening). When we arrived we were quickly shown to our table, which was in the window. Already the restaurant was packed, and it was very noisy as people were having to talk over the loud "background" music. Our starters arrived around 15 minutes after we ordered them and we were provided with water for the table. The starters (scallops and beef carpaccio) were both very good indeed. Unfortunately, we then waited an hour for our mains, before being approached by waiting staff and informed that "we haven't forgotten about you" but the chef had overcooked the venison and needed to start again. After another 15 minutes our food arrived, but both the venison and halibut were over-cooked. We did not complain at the time, as by this point we were very hungry and it was edible, albeit very dry and small portions. We quickly asked for the bill and left without dessert and without leaving any tip. Whilst we had been sat there we watched the restaurant turn away at least 3 couples who hadn't made a booking as they had no tables available!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dependably awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Never had a bad meal here, food is gourmet but in generous portions. Lots of fresh seafood and game. Staff are always friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“reserve a table if you want to eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

I ate here last night on the early evening menu that is £17 for 2 courses. pleasant food the starter of figs and salami was tasty and the salmon well prepared for the main. Not amazing but fine value. I was a big fan of the pecan pie desert though, really good.
There was a steady stream of people asking for tables and being turned away.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This restaurant just keeps on producing quality. The service is slick and professional and the food is wonderful. Every time we go its busy and has a great atmosphere, we never leave disappointed. Keep up the good work Inverness needs you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocpool Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.