We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
1 Ness Walk, Inverness iIV3 5NE, Scotland
+44 1463 717274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 186 restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent food, beautifully prepared & presented. Book ahead as you should not miss a meal at Rocpool if you are in Inverness.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    488
    98
    29
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melvich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Second visit, just as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We managed to book the early bird menu and enjoyed a delicious 3 courses for a very reasonable price. The service cannot be bettered and the food was just wonderful. Definitely to be recommended if you are visiting Inverness, just make sure to book since it is very popular!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I have no idea”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

if the food is good or bad. Inverness' "premier restaurant" misplaced our booking. That's ok, of course, we only made it twice: once by email, once by phone. I had chosen this place because of the reviews, and because it was 3 doors along from our hotel (the Columba at 7 Ness Walk). This fact made it all the more irritating when the stupendously condescending waiter (or did he see himself as maitre de?) told me I had probably booked "the other Rocpool restaurant" - that would be the other one with the same address, same front door pictured on the website, and the same menu. Yes, yes of course it would.

On arrival, we noticed the staff hastily preparing a long table for a large group, but it would seem to me rude to imply that this had anything to do with our mysteriously misplaced booking; so I shan't. What I will say though is that all things seem to happen for a reason, and the reason we were so shoddily treated by the Rocpool was so that we could discover the wonderful Mustard Seed restaurant a few hundred yards along on the other side of the river. That I'll review separately, but for now suffice it to say that it provided a perfect antidote to this crappy experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect start to our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Goes to show that you should focus on the positives rather than the negatives. This was a lovely evening in a packed restaurant which was taking no further bookings by 7.30pm in Inverness! Obviously lots of repeat locals judging by the friendly welcomes they were given.

The food was excellent and our daughter declared it was one of the best meals she'd had in a long time! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I love the Rocpool, always have and always will, so was delighted to get a table (at quite short notice) for Saturday night. As usual, the restaurant was full to capacity and the staff were very busy dealing with customers in a pleasant and professional manner. However, whilst the food was good it wasn't up to their usual exemplary and perfect standard. The starters were excellent, asparagus perfectly cooked (but poached egg not runny so needed replaced), but the scallops with baby chorizo were wonderful. Our mains (venison and beef) were slightly undercooked and not really rested as long as needed so not as perfect as always, but accompanying veg ideally done.
Having said all that, the whole Rocpool experience was super with attentive and efficient staff, great ambience and an engaging maitre'd.
Would absolutely recommend, and will be returning as soon as we can!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocpool Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.