We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
1 Ness Walk, Inverness iIV3 5NE, Scotland
+44 1463 717274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Dingwall, Scotland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Certainly one of the best restaurants in Inverness. Always an interesting menu and the food quality is superb.
Most recent visit was a very busy Friday night, table of 6 friends. Service nice if a bit slow, but it was very busy. A good 20mins before our order was taken.
Starter of scallops and chorizo I have had here before and was again excellent, scallops served in shells, perfectly cooked, and the mini chorizo sausages provide a nice contrast.

No complaints from anyone around the table, from memory including parma ham with peach, crab salad, and king prawns with risotto.

Wine choice was left to the waiter, a white and a red, both Italian, no complaints.

Mains - my fillet beef 'tagliata' was cooked rare as requested and delicious. Venison, Halibut, and calves liver were other choices and all enjoyed.
Desserts excellent, although £7.90 for cheese and biscuits is over the top if you ask me, and for not much cheese, 4 or 5 'small finger' sized pieces.

From the Dinner menu, starters are all in the region of £7-£9, mains £16 up to £23 for prime steaks, desserts all approx £6 - except the cheese!!

Definitely be back, although it's a 'treat' rather than a frequent stop.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    126
    34
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I first went to Rocpool when it first opened and I was living in Highland and was impressed then. On my recent holiday we found ourselves in Inverness on a cold wind day so a nice lunch seemed in order. I had not booked but was made to feel extremly welcome.
We ate off the fixed price menu which was good value at £12.95 for 2 course. The food was still as good as the first time, with simple ingredient extremely well cooked, plenty of flavour and well seasoned.
Please keep this up you are a gem in the highlands

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food in Scotland so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great restaurant. Appetizers and mains were of excellent quality and good portions (not too little, but not an overloaded plate). We had the Sweet Potato Soup and Red Thai Curry Mussels for appetizers and the Filet of Beef and Crab, King Prawn and Scallops Linguine for mains. Food was fantastic. Service is a bit slow, but worth the wait. Make sure you reserve. They were full all night on a Tuesday.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Sets a high standard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

We went for the early evening menu, as we were due at a concert.
The service was good,the menu appealing and the cooking very accomplished. Put simply, you could not find a fault in it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Would love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ate here last Friday - early evening menu; very busy indeed; staff efficient & pleasant, food excellent; would love to go again for the whole evening & try the a la carte menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocpool Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.