We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gate House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gate House to your Saves list
The Gate House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house. Lovely,spacious,exceptionally well appointed room. Superb shower. Host was very warm,welcoming&happy for us to check in when we arrived 2pm (we only chapped the door to ask if it was okay to park in the drive as check in was clearly stated from 3.30pm on booking). A 10 minute walk and we were at Inverness Castle. Breakfast was delicious,good quality food,cooked to order. We will definitely be back! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
42
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lovely place. They Let me park my motorcycle inside the gates for safety.
Very clean modern place.
Short 15 minute walk to Inverness. Just far enough away to be quiet.
Owner is very friendly and attentive and the breakfast great.
You cant go wrong with this place
Make sure you take cash as machines are not available.

Room Tip: Make sure you take cash as Card machines are not available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This has got to be one of the best bed and breakfast accommodations you will find in Inverness.
No need to look for expensive , and sometimes poorly furnished hotels, check in at The Gatehouse.
A warm welcome from Caroline and Ranold and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

we (1 couple) have been in the Gatehouse B&B 1 night for a weekend break. The position is about 15-20mins from the city centre by foot and just outside the B&B there is a public car park. Our room was no.3, it was clean and well presented at our arrival. The bathroom has nice items, a good powerful shower and new and clean towels. The size of the double bed is a bit small for two persons and the tv is small and difficult to watch (it is located on a corner of the ceiling) and the tv audio was not working. We were asked which kind of breakfast we'd prefer at the night of our arrival and at what time we wanted it (the breakfast time on Sunday morning was about 8-9am), we opted for the traditional British breakfast: it was right but not abundant. During the night no disturbing noises from outside.

Room Tip: if you are a couple ask for a king size bed, the normal double bed size (in room no.3) is a bit smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

excellent B&B, Room was clean, light, modern, comfortable, bathroom was also excellent with good powerful shower and heated towel rail, lovely soft towels. Owner Caroline is really lovely and is really helpful, Breakfast was excellent with a good variety to choose from, "Scrambled eggs are the best I have ever tasted". Plenty of vehicle car parking space, short walk from city centre, Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I only stopped here one night but was very impressed. The room I got was wonderful, very spacious and comfortable even with complimentary shortbread biscuits *thumbs up*. I never met Caroline but Ranald was very hospitable and made a lovely breakfast. It didn't bother me cos I was on a walking holiday but if you're not one for a walk then it may be too far from the town centre...it's probably about a mile. Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Friendly hosts, lovely clean fresh bedroom ( I used the twin room as a single) with the best shower I found anywhere in Britain. The ensuite has an amazing heated towel rail for drying that essential washing when one is travelling. Caroline and Ranald were happy to do an early breakfast and this was one of only two B & B's I stayed at over a 6 week period which offered fresh fruit, real marmalade and drinkable coffee for breakfast. I would highly recommend staying at the Gatehouse to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Address: 80 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gate House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.