We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverness Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inverness Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Inverness Youth Hostel
Victoria Drive, Inverness IV2 3QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located close to everything, this hostel met all our needs and then some. The rooms were clean and tidy, not too cramped either, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean.
The hostel has excellent self catered kitchens and it is positively massive and also well stocked with the pots and pans that you would need.
With a big Morrisons nearby, there is no worry for getting the items required for you to make yourself a dinner/breakfast.
Free car parking facitlity on request makes it an awesome option as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
8
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hostel is about a 15 min walk from the Inverness bus station. It is 5 mins away from a Morrisons supermarket and bus stop to/from the airport. The hostel is very large, with a huge stainless steel self catering kitchen and nice lounge/reception area. The dorm rooms and bathrooms were very clean and orderly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thank you for having me to stay at the SYHA Inverness. Jim the duty manager got in touch to offer me a bed while in the final stages of my LEJOG run. I enjoyed a friendly welcome, a great night's sleep and enjoyed some great craic with the residents. Best hostel in Inverness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Due to my own error I booked twice into this hostel and had accidently paid ( don't ask!)
I emailed an enquiry and straight away it was sorted out beyond what I could have expected.
Excellent customer service and I haven't even been there yet!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i was pleasantly surprised when I came here as I thought it was a typical youth hostel, but in fact it was anything but!. I was greeted by a pleasant chap who asked if I had had a plesant journey. I booked a bed as I was only here for the night and I ended up getting a private room. Ok so it was a small ensuite room but it was perfect for the amount of money i paid. All the staff i spoke with were extremely friendly and chatty. It was just painted inside so it was bery fresh and welcoming. I didnt eat here as they have self catering facilities and i was only there for a sleep, but I will definately be back with my friends as I couldnt fault anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean, large room, with standard issue creaky SYHA beds. The kitchen was clean, with everything you needed.

Peaking into a micro room, they do look very micro.

Exactly what you expect from SYHA, in a city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent there one night and I have to say I had great experience. There is a self-catering kitchen which is huge and well equipped. We had room for 6 people with a sink and mirror over that. The storage lockers are in good size. The communal room is large, there's also the cafe area in front of reception. The breakfast was continental with wide choice of food, hot drinks and juices. Showers and toilets were clean however there were missing toilet rolls in 2 cubicles.
The hotel is situated not far from the city, about 15-20 mins by walk where you find wide range of restaurants and bars, and the supermarket Morrisons is about 10 mins from the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverness Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Youth Hostel

Address: Victoria Drive, Inverness IV2 3QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Inverness Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Youth Hostel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverness Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.