We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a backpacker on a budget...just not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inverness Tourist Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inverness Tourist Hostel to your Saves list
Inverness Tourist Hostel
24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for a backpacker on a budget...just not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hostel twice now only because I really get along with the staff and I enjoy its friendly, lively atmosphere, but the place definitely has its faults. You can tell it's in an old building and needs a lot of repair (especially concerning the toilets/bathrooms) and the place could have been cleaner on the whole but it's a perfect place to meet new people - especially when the staff go out for a night on the town. The WiFi working in the rooms was a bonus too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    26
    16
    16
See reviews for
3
13
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was cheap and its location by the bus stop was really nice, the kitchen and tv room were really nice and a great place to meet other travelers but the dorm room I was in had terrible condensation and was unable to sleep; if that could be sorted then it would be a great hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is awesome - it's conveniently located next to the bus stop (literally, you cut through the parking lot alley way and you're there), there's plenty of pubs and shopping around (decent grocery store across the street), most of the distance busses leave from the same stop, all the nearby trips leave from a stop that's less than five minutes walk. It's in an older building, but don't let the facade fool you. It seems fairly recently renovated, the beds and covers were clean , the floors were always swept and mopped, the bathrooms clean and well-stocked. The only bad thing was the showers were a little difficult to figure out - but I think that's because I'm an American and we have a different tap system. I got used to it after a while. It was a little chilly, but nothing a few extra layers wouldn't fix (it was also an unseasonably cold time of year).

The staff is great - they were so helpful with all of my traveling issues (credit card being blocked, having to book extra days, then un-book, losing my wallet) and ready to do what they needed to make my stay comfortable. I can't thank them enough.

The kitchen is nice, well-appointed, and there's always free tea and coffee and milk and sugar. THAT was great. It could get a little crowded in the evening, but that's because there were always people there - a sure sign of satisfaction. There's a big screen TV that was fairly negotiated over and the wireless was decent.

All in all, this was my best hostel experience. The place was great and is in a beautiful little town just a short bus ride from anywhere (Loch Ness, Drumnadrochit, Urquhart Castle, Falls of Foyers, Fort George, Culloden Battlefield - then right in the middle of Edinburgh and Glasgow). I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to check in as soon as possible so you have a better chance at getting a bottom bunk - it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed: December 23, 2012

This was my first time staying in a hostel and there are a few things I would like to take note off:

1. Location:
a) It is simply a 2 minute walk from the bus station. Due to its central location, it is easy to get around.
b) There is a cheap frozen food store behind it called "Iceland" where you can get cheap food for GBP 1 per meal!

2. Hostel common areas:
a) The reception area was very clean and welcoming and they we're very casual and relaxed about things.
b) There are opening hours for the kitchen (8:00 am to 11:00pm) and this made it difficult if you needed a quick snack or have a bite as shops close early here in Inverness
c) However, the kitchen is well furnished with lots of chairs and cooking utensil. Very convenient for cheap traveler who grocery shop most of the time.
d) The lounge is pretty cool. I think that it was sparse and not crowded was because it was approaching Christmas and the fact that it was Winter time. Very nice and cozy with a piano and guitar you can play as well as a computer that you can use.

3. The Accommodation:
a) Toilets work fine but they do smell as it doesn't get aired well enough. Sinks are so tiny! No shelves to put toothpaste or toiletries. It would help if they had a small shelf in the toilets.
b) Some showers weren't working when we were there, but the showers are very convenient to use. Warm and nice. The showers didn't smell as bad and were cleaner than the toilets
c) I stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm. The lighting wasn't too good as it only lit the front of the room and not the back. They also opened the windows during the day and considering that it gets rainy and wet in Inverness a lot, I didn't agree to it. It would have let bugs or dampness in. I think it should only be open on sunny days. The shelves worked fine and the comforters are nice and warm. They only turn on the heater at the start of the night and then they turn it off after a certain hour. Not sure why. NOTE: The WIFI is very good in my room because I think I was right above the reception area. Not sure about the rest of the place.

Overall: It was nice and comfortable. For the price paid, it was worthwhile. As a girl, I felt safe here. It wasn't full or packed when we stayed here in the winter and it was rather cosy. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Room Tip: Get the room that is right above the reception area. Try to avoid the first floor where most activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I ve been there in the 2011 summer, i think is a good hostel, excellent ubication, just 1 block to the train and bus station.
I think if you dont looking for luxury, you re in the correct place.
You have to walk a few blocks to the supermarket and the downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very kind and it was £8 at this time of the year. Unbelievable. But for me, personally, it wasnt so good. Small bedroom with unstable cheap bed, and it seems very dark in the room, depressing. I didnt really like the atmosphere, but the other reviews are very positive, so... But I think for only £8... Its worth a try!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I went to this place with a coupple of friends. The outside-impression wasn't the best but the cosy interior more than makes up for that. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and clean, just as the toilets (controlled every 2hrs). The kitchen was comfortable too, but it's not too big (didn't bother me, as everybody was considerate). The common room with the comfy sofas was one of the highlights of this stay. Fantastic place to rest & relax. The location couldn't be better: car park with reasonable prices nearby, very central.
The only drop of bitterness was that 3 of the 5 showers didn't work (main reason why I don't give 5 points, I would give 4.5 but the system doesn't allow me to ;) ). It didn't cost too much time in my case, but when you've got bad luck you might wait quite some time.

After all, I defenitely would return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverness Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Tourist Hostel

Address: 24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value, best location, best atmosphere, very secure, very clean, FREE OVERNIGHT PARKING, FREE WALKING TOURS, FREE WIFI ... come see for yourself why we are so popular in Inverness.We are a modern, lively, fun filled hostel just yards from the main bus station in the centre of town and 5 minutes walk from the train station. If you are looking for fantastic budget priced accommodation with a friendly atmosphere then look no further.Inverness provides an excellent base to explore the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The city has many attractions, including the museum and art gallery, Inverness castle (with the Castle Garrison Encounter Exhibition) and of course the legendary Loch Ness Monster around the corner! Inverness is also home to some of the best award winning live music bars in Scotland and also restaurants providing amazing food and value.For all you Outlander fans, Culloden Battlefield and the Clava Cairns (inspiration for Craigh na Dun) are a short bus ride away. There are also many tours offered by various companies that explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Glen Affric and many other places of interest. The staff at the hostel can book these tours for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Inverness Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Tourist Hostel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverness Tourist Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.