We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Ann's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Ann's House
Save
You added St Ann's House to your Saves list
37 Harrowden Road, Inverness IV3 5QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Apologies for the belated review Bob & MaryAnn but better late than never. We were with you on 9th & 10th May this year and in Scotland to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary with my cousin and her husband. We couldn't have chosen a better B & B. Bob & MaryAnn are a charming couple and did everything they could to make us welcome and they are very helpful recommending places to eat out and places to visit. Bob is an excellent cook and we enjoyed our breakfasts in the dining room which overlooks a beautiful garden. We missed these when we moved on to our self catering bungalow on the Saturday! St Ann's house is located within walking distance of the town and the river and there is plenty of parking available at the B & B. We can highly recommend St Ann's and we hope we may return in the future as we really enjoyed our stay in Inverness. It is very good base to tour from. Many thanks Bob & MaryAnn.

Room Tip: No problems at all with noise either from traffic or other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Home comforts are what we pride our selves on and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say Inverness is an excellent base from which to tour with a variety of tours by coach or train, but it is even better if you have your own transport and can explore some of the most spectacular countryside in Europe. Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
120
47
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family (husband and two young boys) and I stayed 2 nights at St Anns. The house is lovely and in a beautiful and quiet part of the town within an easy walk to the river and town centre. The hosts Bob and Mary are exceptionally warm and made our stay very happy! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are delighted to meet so many people from around the world. It is a privilege to meet people from a variety of cultures and to impart our knowledge of Scotland. It is a long journey for many guests and we try to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I know the boys didn't see Nessie this time - perhaps next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a very clean and spacious room and bathroom. They welcomed us into their home and provided a great Scottish breakfast in the morning. They suggested the night we arrived to walk into Inverness and visit a local pub, The Hootananny, we had such a great time there and enjoyed being in an authentic Scottish pub. Would definitely stay with them again if we ever visit Inverness again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to recommend our house. I am delighted you enjoyed Hootenanny's - a fantastic music venue and only one of a number in the city. In fact Inverness has a substantial number of quality live music venues - and the great thing is they are all free entry. Come back and listen to some more music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at St. Ann's for one night on my own. Bob & Mary Ann are a lovely couple & very helpful. The room was small but very cosy & clean. The breakfast selection is superb & much better than in many hotels! Would definitely come back to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are pleased that we were able to contribute to your experience in Scotland. The room is small, but it only a place to sleep because there are so many things to see and do in Inverness and the surrounding area. Thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Two couples from Australia stayed here in May for 1 night. We were welcomed as long lost friends. Bob gave us good advice on places to eat and visit. Our rooms were lovely and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the next day overlooking the beatiful garden. Highly recommend St Anns as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at St Ann's . Our gardens are there to be enjoyed by guests and are tremendous backdrop to our substantial breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with friends, and revelled in the hospitality, nice room and great breakfast overlooking a beautiful garden.Bob went the extra mile for us, even driving us into town for dinner when we were running late, and with great advice on sites to see. A&G.

Room Tip: Front room, first on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and experienced the renowned Scottish hospitality. The garden, which is in splendid colour at the moment, is an added bonus and really does give the dining area a room with a view. It's also the ideal place to relax on the long light ( and hopefully warm) nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at St Ann's on the 23rd of May for one night. We had a very friendly and attentive welcome. The room was very clean and warm and all facilities excellent. Would definitely recommend anybody to stay at St Ann's whilst in Inverness. Just a ten minute or so walk over the bridge into the city centre. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Nil swimming pool........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The house is in an ideal position for guests travelling by car, with unrestricted parking. A short stroll takes you down to the banks of the River Ness, with its riverside pubs and restaurants. We try to pay attention to detail - it makes all the difference when you are a long way from home. Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Ann's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's House

Address: 37 Harrowden Road, Inverness IV3 5QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ann's House, in Inverness, the capital of the Scottish Highlands is ideally placed to explore historic and scenic sites. It is five minutes walk from the River Ness with its restaurants and pubs. The house is a twenty minute drive from legendary Loch Ness. The owners are delighted to help you plan your trips, making the most of your holiday. Relax in the residents' lounge or in the colourful gardens. Catch up with home using free w-fi. Breakfast is served in a bright dining room looking onto the gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Ann's House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Ann's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.