We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Really Angus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strathness House to your Saves list
Strathness House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Ardross Terrace, Ness Walk | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's Really Angus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

A warm, caring and effusive welcome began our stay here. We were expected and greeted by name without introducing ourselves. We were offered a corner room with a view across the Ness River. It was one flight up (no lift). For anyone with difficulty walking, it's 20 steps to the first floor. We booked dinner that evening and had a delicious home cooked meal that pleased us both.
Our room had en suite stall shower and loo, very modern in this ancient building and sparkling clean. We had an unobstructed view of the river and the lovely buildings and castle on the other side of the river.
Service was great. We expressed a desire to have some real Aberdeenshire Angus Beef steaks for dinner and I had seen a place. The proprietor telephoned the restaurant (The Steak Academy) and was assured that they had the real thing. It was a great dinner.
Strathness House made our stay in Inverness comfortable and easy. We'll stay there again if we return.
Howard and Don

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    78
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
69
171
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have previously stayed stayed in Inverness and been disappointed with our choice of hotel but that was before we discovered TA. This time and all the wiser we booked for three nights and our experience was spot on with welcoming hosts, a view to die for, nothing to really criticize and everything to praise. We traveled by train and unless your bag is really heavy just walk from the station as Strathness House is that close. Excellent places to eat nearby and all in all about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at Strathness House.Our room was delightful with a wonderful view of the river. The location was perfect and the owners were very helpful. When our flight home was delayed by volcanic ash we were pleased to have an excuse for another nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, U.K.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Sometimes you wonder if you got your money's worth. Not in this case, not even a little. The owners and staff were all very gracious and helpful. When we were shown the room our questions were anticipated and answered (e.g., we knew exactly how the shower and heating system worked). The room was very clean, well furnished, and had a great view of the River Ness. My wife had enough towels! The breakfast in the morning was great and was served by an efficient staff. From the front door there is a wonderful 40 minute riverside/forest walk. For the second time, I want to stress how gracious and helpful our hosts were. We are sooo glad we found this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18soulisquoy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This is a lovely guest house, with a fantastic location. Just a minute away from the shops and lovely restaurants. First class hosts, very helpful and friendly. The room was perfect with comfy bed. Excellent en suite room. This guest house is full of character and was cleaned to a first class standard. We will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

From the moment I arrived Joan and Javed made me feel welcome. nothing was a problem, always friendly and willing to accommodate.
This guest house has recently been refurbished, and finishings are of a high standard.
There is a lounge area where guests can relax and not feel they are in the way when rooms are being cleaned.
The guest house sits on the river ness with views over the castle, in the rooms at the front. Close to Eden court theatre and the shops.
I have stayed in hotels throughout Inverness and rate this guest house above them all.
Book with the knowledge you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Beautiful old building on the River Ness and right across the street from the cathedral. Our hosts were very nice and accommodating and the rooms neat and well appointed, if a little cramped. The view over the river was lovely and the hotel is within walking distance of anything that you might want in Inverness. Breakfast was also very good. The only real disappointment was the lack of a bar, but there were plenty down the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Address: 4 Ardross Terrace, Ness Walk | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathness House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathness House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.