We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strathness House to your Saves list
Strathness House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Strathness House B&B Inverness. 19th August
We had driven all day after visiting Castle Mey and John O’Grotes when we finally arrived at Inverness around 20:00hrs which was quite late to find a room for the night, we drove into the heart of town over the river ness and turned left in to Ardross Terrrace as there were a few hotels in this area. As we looked around a these hotels all had No Vacancies when we noticed this B&B on the corner we called in and asked for a room just as a cancellation was made, lucky us. We got a twin room on the top floor 2 floors (No lifts) overlooking the river, good size room though the bathroom was cosy. It was clean and fresh nicely decorated with Hair dryer, Iron & Ironing board brilliant. The owners were very chatty and made us feel most welcome. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and service. Ideal location to visit the town
What a great B&B one of the best I’ve stayed in..
Will defiantly stay here again when we next visit Inverness.
Well done Strathness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    77
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
69
167
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. We were greeted warmly, helped with our luggage, escorted to our room and shown how to use everything. We had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the river. It was very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The eggs were poached perfectly and there was plenty to eat. This is a very professional, friendly hotel and I would really recommend it to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent a night here when going for a job interview. The room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the river Ness. Good breakfast, and 5 minutes walk from centre of Inverness. He would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place is open and honest about its hotel: centrally located, no lift for your luggage. Parking is nearby and simple, to unload your luggage, just pull up onto the sidewalk in front of the entrance. There is a decent breakfast, an easy walk into the areas you would walk as a tourist, and not difficult to get out of town to play golf. Many nearby restaurants. This is not he Four Seasons, more of B&B/hotel, but if you have any problems with stairs, find another hotel, if not, then certainly stay there.

Room Tip: A good place if you want to see the town, walk to many nearby good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed in dozens or even hundreds of hotels but I have never felt more at home than I did at Strathness House.
My wife and I stayed here for nine nights in July 2013, and felt so welcome and appreciated that it was like staying with dear friends (without the awkwardness of trying to guess when you've outstayed your welcome).
The location of Strathness House is perfect, right on the bank of the river Ness, just outside Inverness city centre, so you can walk there and leave your car near the hotel. There is a parking lot at St. Andrews Cathedral, next to the hotel, where parking is free during the evening and night hours.
There is no lift in the hotel but the stairs are wide and not too steep, and there's always a helping hand available to get your bags upstairs or down.
We had room 6, with a river view, and we couldn't have asked for a better room. It was bright, clean and spacious with a marvellous view. The bed was good and there was ample closet space. There is free WiFi in the hotel and satellite TV with good TV sets.
Our bathroom was also large and clean with a good shower and toilet. Water pressure is excellent, and the shower head is detachable and adjustable.
The windows in our room could be opened, and even with the windows open the noise from the street below was no problem at all. We had nine great night's sleep.
Breakfast was a pleasure every morning, served by a very cheerful lady with a beautiful Scottish accent. I probably ate way too much bacon, because it tasted so good, but walking through the Scottish Highlands helped me lose the extra pounds.
So yes, this is the best guest house in Inverness, and what makes it extra special are the owners Joan and Javed. They are some of the loveliest people you will ever meet. They will make you feel at home and help you any way they can. They know so much about Inverness and the Highlands, places to visit, where to eat, just ask them. You don't have to talk to them but I loved our little conversations every day, coming 'home' from another day exploring the Highlands.
We will certainly return to Strathness House. There's so much more to see and do in the Highlands and Islands area, and Strathness House is in our opinion the best place from where to do it.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with a river view, it's worth it. You get a great view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have stayed at Strathness House previously. Very convenient location on the riverside, with restaurants near by.
The hotel itself is a bit dated, but still in acceptable condition. The rooms can be awkwardly shaped and this time we could not find enough floor space to set down two suitcases and open them. There is no lift, so one must carry heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs. Bathroom was modern except they had left a very small sink with no mixer taps so that was awkward, even to brush teeth. There was too much furniture in our room - why the need for three tables and a wardrobe?
The proprietors are friendly and helpful, but tend to talk a bit long, so it's hard to get by the reception desk without being cornered for yet another conversation. Sorry guys, some of us just like to come and go without being interrogated. Pull your car up outside to unload suitcases, because you will end up having to park in a pay lot down the road.
If you want a good quality meal, try the Italian restaurant down near the corner at the bridge. Excellent fare and not hugely expensive. Ignore Strathness recommendations in town, there's nothing better than the two or three places right on the same street. We even enjoyed a live music night at the local pub in the next block.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. It seems that you did not really enjoy your stay, and for that we are sorry especially when you stated that you had previously stayed.
We do not agree about your statement that the house ,is a bit dated. Thankfully, not everyone has the same taste.
It is clearly stated that we do not have a lift, but help and assistance is given as required. In some cases the guests that we have staying are more able to carry their own suitcases than we are, but assistance is always given.

Mixer taps are not with the style of the building and are not so easy to maintain if things go wrong.

The room did not have “3 tables”, the room had a small table with kettle and refreshments. The other piece of furniture is a small chest of drawers that the TV sits on, other than the 2 small bedside cabinets and wardrobe.

We cannot seem to win, we are either too friendly and talk too much or we do not talk enough.
We are sorry that you felt that you were interrogated, that was not the intention.

These guests were very lucky to be able to get a reservation at the restaurant along from us ( which incidentally we also highly recommend ). It is not always the case that a table can be reserved, so we think it helps to have a choice of recommended restaurants further afield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We only stayed at Strathness House for one night. We arrived late after a long bus ride, and the owners were wonderfully accommodating. They even chilled our cider for us so we could enjoy a nightcap in the room! The bed was comfortable and the shower was clean and high-pressure. Breakfast was more limited in selection than some of the big hotels we stayed at, but all the food was delicious. I would definitely return to Strathness House, and if I could redo the vacation, I would stay there for several nights and use it as a basecamp for exploring the Highlands.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the river-view room, and it was worth the money. It was so picturesque to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Address: 4 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathness House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathness House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.