We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverglen Guest House

Save Saved
You added Inverglen Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£15 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 217 Inverness B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A fantastic B and B in a super location for exploring Inverness. The room I stayed in was clean and spacious and the shower was the best I have ever used! The breakfasts were scrummy and set me up for the day and you can tell the best ingredients were sourced. The homemade(good job Susan) short bread in the room was a lovely touch. Final mention must be to Susan and John the were a wealth of knowledge and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the breakfasts and shortbread so much. Our free range eggs are delivered every week from just along the coast, so I'll pass on the Mark (who delivers them) that he's made a contribution to a TripAdvisor review - he'll be really chuffed!

If you ever fancy another trip to Inverness, please come back and see us again!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
122
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Many thanks to Susan and John, as they provided the best B & B experience anyone could ever have. We knew they were rated #1, so our expectations were high, yet they managed to exceed well beyond. It began with thoughtful emails answering our questions as we prepared for our trip, then giving helpful suggestions as our plans became more specific. Their recommendation for WOW guided tours turned out to be a fantastic tip. Once in Inverness, we were greeted with smiles at their door followed by delicious homemade cake and tea in the living area as we got to know one another. That was just a tease for the fantastic breakfasts which we would enjoy over the next two days. I definitely had to try the full Scottish breakfast the first morning, and hopefully you will have a big appetite if you do the same! Fresh fruit, yogurts, juice, coffee and tea are provided every morning along with the other menu choices. We thought the porridge was especially tasty. It was enjoyable talking to the other guests and exchanging ideas and stories of our travels. Every room at Inverglen is light, bright, spacious, and beautifully decorated. It just seems like sunlight comes pouring in to match the sunny disposition of the hosts. Our lovely bedroom (room 2) was very spacious with a large window overlooking the front lawn. Comfortable bed, beautiful linens, TV, WiFi, and best of all, a sunny ensuite bathroom with toiletries and heated towel rack. Cleanliness throughout the entire B & B was of the highest possible. Even though there are other guests, it is a quiet and tranquil setting. Needless to say, we were so impressed and pleased with our choice to book Inverglen, as Susan and John's hard work and gracious hospitality made our experience the best possible. Couldn't help but give them both big hugs when we left, as they already felt like long time friends.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious, sunny, and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks Mary for writing such a lovely review for us - we know you don't do them all the time, so we appreciate the time you took to do this one. We really enjoyed having you and your party here for a couple of days, and hope you had a great time when you went on to visit Skye with Gordon.

What a coincidence that you and your husband were alumni of Michigan State University, and that was twinned with Susan's former university in Surrey! Life is full of little parallels that just amaze us sometimes!!

I'm sure you'll have some fabulous photos to remind you of your trip - we're still enjoying the card from Antelope Canyon, and maybe one day we'll get there to see it for ourselves.

Best wishes, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

No wonder they are number one. John and Susan have the best B&B ever. Beside the fact that the rooms are spacious and spotless, the hosts are wonderful people. We received tons of advice for restaurants, help with transportation to the Culloden Battlefield and Clava Cairns, photography advice and of course there was Susan's wonderful baked goods that we had upon introduction as well as a wonderful breakfast menu. Can't say enough about our stay. Hated to leave. Great people. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate that! It's always great to get feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Glad you enjoyed all the baked goods - Susan loves to bake to help her relax, so we love to know that her efforts are appreciated.

We hope you had a great time on the remainder of your trip in Scotland, and a safe journey home. Please come back and visit us again if you are in the area.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

John and Susan were wonderful hosts. They suggested restaurants, pubs and places to see. We only went to Chanonry Point because Susan told us about it and it is such a beautiful place. We didn't see the dolphins but maybe we'll be luckier next time.
Breakfast was always very tasty as well as the shortbread in our room.
The guestroom was flawless. We were sorry we only stayed in Inverness for 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks so much for writing a review for us, and we hope you enjoyed the cooler weather whilst you were here visiting - I'm sure it's really hot back in Portugal! We're delighted you enjoyed the trip to Chanonry Point even though the dolphins were shy that day - the views are really worth the drive anyway.

It was lovely to meet you both, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon to Scotland and the Inverglen Guest House was the best B&B we stayed in. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is delicious, and John and Susan are wonderful people. The location is perfect for walking around town, going out for dinner and drinks, but with the ease of a parking lot behind the B&B and quiet surroundings. The homemade cookies were a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Alicia - thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you and Andrew enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that the rest of your delayed honeymoon was great too!

Looking forward to hearing that you have successfully tried to bake the Lemon Crinkle Biscuits!!!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

John and Susan were wonderful hosts and the location of the property (2 minute walk to downtown) was ideal. Our room was clean and very modern, and the breakfasts were delicious (the daily specials while we were staying there were fantastic!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Nicholas - thanks for writing a review for us, and we are so pleased that you and your dad enjoyed your stay with us.

We were so glad that the wind dropped and the sun shone for your golf day at Royal Dornoch, and hope that you enjoyed playing the next course at Turnberry after you left us. Enjoy the rest of the short season back in Canada!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

John and Susan are wonderful hosts and we felt very welcome during our 4 nights staying at Inverglen. They both were very helpful in regards to recommending places to eat and see. Our room (2) located at the front of the house was perfect - very light and airy. Ensuite was lovely and well equipped with basic amenities. Susan's homemade cakes and Scottish shortbreads are yummo! Along with her superbly cooked breakfast ( eggs are the best we've tasted for a long time ) and John looking after us at breakfast - we felt very spoilt ;) Great having a communal fridge for extra water and milk should it be required (also kept our wine chilled). A vast range of DVD's and books for guests to choose from. There is also a Communal Lounge for guests to enjoy. I felt so relaxed I read a book in 2 days! Only a short walk (a bit of a hill but nothing too strenuous) from the Train Station and a short walk into town for the restaurants and the Information Centre where all the Tours seem to leave from. John and Susan will definitely look after you well :)

Room Tip: Room 2 good size - and large bay window looking out on the quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests either on what we are doing right, or where we can improve.

We really enjoyed your company for the 4 days you were with us, and hope you had a safe journey back to Colchester - enjoy the sunny Essex weather whilst you can!! Hopefully you have some great photos and happy memories of the Highlands?

Hope you enjoy your next trip to Croatia, and that you've managed to find a travel agent to help you with your search for the perfect place to stay!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Inverglen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverglen Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.