We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice memory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell House
Save
You added Bluebell House to your Saves list
31 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice memory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Blubell House for one night. Staying at Inverness was not planned at all, but we were all tired and driving along the Kenneth street we saw this lovely house and knocked on the door. Neil opened it and with his lovely smile on his face he said he would be more than willing to show the only rooms available for that night. The rooms were so cosy and perfectly clean. Everything is planned for you to feel like at home. There is a bunch of DVDs you can watch in your room. The breakfast was also very good; but the amazing hosts-Margaret and Neil is the reason of our emotional attachment to Scotland and Inverness. Glad to meet such people...

  • Liked — hosts, cosiness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
139
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was a lovely Bed & Breakfast. The hosts Neil and Margaret are quite friendly and took our reservation online by email without even asking for a card number to confirm.
The room was quite big, decorated to be very homely with a very comfortable king sized bed, great shower and complimentary shortbread as well as a small DVD collection, with many titles relevant to the area (Loch Ness, Braveheart, Last King of Scotland etc).
The price was very reasonable and the location convenient, and the charming full Scottish breakfast topped off our stay perfectly.

  • Liked — Unique rooms and personal touches of service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed in the four poster room at Bluebell House and really enjoyed our stay.

The room is comfortable, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and the property is ideally located to explore Inverness and Loch Ness.

Breakfast was great! And if you fancy a night in, then there are a good selection of DVD's to keep you entertained!

We had another property booked for our stay in Inverness, and when that turned out to be a disappointment, we called Margaret and went straight back to stay at Bluebell house! Inverness is so close to Loch Ness, we found it was worth the short trip back.

I would recommend this B&B without hesitation

  • Liked — the four poster bed and the location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I have had the pleasure to stay at Bluebell House a number of times while working in Inverness. A special treat was the time I stayed in the 'four poster'. The most gorgeous night's sleep, only to wake up to the most perfect hosts, who consistently have a warm welcome and smiling faces first thing in the morning.

Nothing is too much trouble, and you really feel welcome. I love the private parking facility too, which is always a nightmare in Inverness, if you need to park on the street.

  • Liked — Comfy night's sleep
  • Disliked — the long drive home
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed only one night, but it was a wonderful B&B on our tour of Scotland. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. We were made to feel very welcome, and we would certainly stay here again. It was very close to the city centre - maybe a 5 min walk? Tesco was across the street, which allowed us to buy some 'car snacks'. We ate at 'The Mustard Seed', located on the river. We'd highly recommend that restaurant as well. The city was a bit disappointing. Things are a bit run down, and the castle isn't all that old, but the Bluebell House was a lovely oasis in this less than spectacular city. The hosts gave us some helpful suggestions on our next destination as well. My only suggestions that would make this stay even better is to get freeview in the rooms, but the lack of it didn't make my stay any less pleasant. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. My husband says it's been his favourite in all we've stayed in, out of about 10 across the UK.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell House

Address: 31 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bluebell House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.