We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, serving good food and good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heathmount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heathmount Hotel to your Saves list
Heathmount Hotel
Kingsmills Road, Inverness IV2 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£125 (GBP)
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, serving good food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Have never stayed here, but have enjoyed a couple of meals. The food is good and reasonably priced. The scallops starter was generous, with four decent sized scallops. The ale is good, and there is a nice atmosphere.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    53
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
91
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The room we had at the Heathmount was lovely - very elegant (brown decor) with all the mod cons. Our recommendation though is not to have room 2 because it's right above the kitchen which means that there's a fan/vent outside the window and it's uncomfortably hot in the room all the time. We ate out at a very nice curry house called Rajah. For breakfast the bakery delivery arrived late so they gave me chilli bread toasted. Weird and gave me heartburn all day. We didn't find the place too noisy but it was a Monday night and it was handy for walking into town, without having to pay central Inverness prices. I would go back (to a different room)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We had a perfect stay, meals were fantastic, rooms were out of this world, staff very friendly and hospitable.
Made us feel very welcome, we would recommend to anyone and are looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

A friend and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting other friends. From the initial phone call to make the booking we knew this would be a great place - the service was so friendly.
Our room, a twin, was very purple - as it shows on the website. One friend said it was like being inside a plum. And the cherubs on the bathroom ceiling were very kitch. But it had everything we wanted - including bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, free water and biscuits, toiletries, a radio and so on. I travel every week and rarely find all these amenities outside a 5* hotel. The morning breakfast was fab, with a choice of newspapers to read. I thoroughly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This hotel has a cool rooms and a very friendly staff. Each of the hotel's 7 rooms is decorated differently - nothing ordinary here. One room is almost all black, others have vibrant colors. Each has a comfy bed(s), robes, flat screen TV, updated bathroom, and light tea set (teapot, tea, fresh fruit, cookies). Everything worked, plenty of light and plenty of outlets. Stayed here as part of a 6-person group. Together, we had about half the hotel, so I got to see several of the rooms. The staff is among the friendliest and most welcoming I have ever experienced anywhere. Fiona (the owner) was so easy to talk with, and the staff offered great suggestions for dinner and places to visit around the city. We even got suggestions for places to stop while in Edinburgh (on our way there). Each turned out to be exactly as described - and just what we were looking for. The whole place has an 'art-deco dropped in Scotland' feel to it. The staff recognized our group was together, so they had a large table ready for us at breakfast each day. Do not miss the breakfast - plenty of options, fresh-cooked, and very tasty. Be sure to try the bacon roll and tatty scones - you won't be disappointed. Overall, the property is well cared-for, the staff is excellent, and I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Heathmount Hotel for one night last weekend.

It was fairly easy to find. The initail look of the hotel from the car park was OK...looked a little bit shabby. You walk into the hotel through the bar, reception wasn't particularly easy to see, but we were served straight away and shown to reception.

The girl at reception was very helpful and took us up to our room explaining breakfast times etc. The room was lovely. Very stylish, with mirrors everywhere. It was massive! There was tea / coffee / shortbread / water etc and a TV with freeview. The bathroom was a good size too. I fancied a bath but it didn't look like it had been used in quite a while. The shower was very powerful.

There are menus in the room for the restaurant downstairs and also a list of DVDs you can ask for at reception to borrow for one night - free of charge. The hotel also has wireless.

When asked to book us a taxi, the same girl who checked us in did it straight away and told us where it would pick us up. She also recommended some clubs / pubs etc which was so helpful.

Inverness centre was only a £4.00 taxi away, or you could walk it!

There is a Victoria Wine, Boots, and corner shop all just across the road from the hotel.

At night, we went for a meal to the Mustard Seed and then to a new club called the Den. I would highly recommend both. When we got back to the hotel we sat outside on the heated patio until fairly late.

Breakfast was included the next morning - we slept in! And check out was at 11am.

I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitely recommend it! I'll definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

This hotel is in fact 5 rooms above a bar and restaurant.
My room was fine and had everything you need including bathrobe and slippers , coffee maker etc. Half of the wall sockets are not working in room 5 though.

However this place is not a "hotel" but more a bar with a few rooms. Reception is next to the beer taps, the way up to the rooms is next to to the toilet for bar customers - not the right feel for me.
The biggest problem with this place is noise. The building ( maybe originally a singl family home) is located in a V between 2 roads and there is therefore constant traffic. In addition customers in the bar /restaurant can be clearly heard while you are in your room.
The price they charge for B&B is the same as the 2 major hotels which are located on the river charge ,and therefore this seems expensive.

The food was very nice though and the staff has been super but I would not recommend this place at this price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heathmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathmount Hotel

Address: Kingsmills Road, Inverness IV2 3JU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathmount Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heathmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathmount Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heathmount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.