We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will try again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 - CLOSED

Route 66
Unit 10 strothers lane, Inverness, Scotland
01463 243743
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Route 66 is an American bar in Inverness
scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Will try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I wasn't sure how many stars to rate this restaurant to be honest. I visited quite a while ago with another two people and we were all well impressed. So much so that I went back with my partner (a few mornths ago) but we had to walk out without eating. It was really busy but there didn't seem to be hardly any food at all coming out of the kitchen! It wasn't just us that walked out that day as people couldn't wait any longer. We were speaking to girls in the queue at the till and they did actually eat but said it was awful and were complaining about it. Obviously this experience totally put us off but on reading recent reviews, then maybe, they've got their act together again. There was obviously some problem for a while. Shame because it is a smart place and the staff were really nice. Will try again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard r, Manager at Route 66, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Thanks for your review. I am glad your 1st visit with us was good however disapointed that your 2nd visit was not. I suspect from your review on your 2nd visit we were going through a period where we were trying new things & staff etc. The chef at that time did not work out and is no longer with us. The kitchen has been taken control of by one of the owners and there has been some big changes a whole new menu that focuses on what we do best, burgers, steaks & hotdogs. We have been working with some of the best master chefs in the UK and have replaced all our crockery so that the presentation is just as good as the food. Our staff have gone through intence training from wine tasting to customer service as we aim top be the top burger bar / diner in the UK.

I trust on your next visit you will be delighted with the changes and I have no doupt your next review will be 5 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    4
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Genuinely the worst restaurant I've been to in my life. Milkshakes were undrinkable, nachos were like a bag of Doritos with a sprinkle of cheese (not even any salsa?!) and presentation of it all made it even worse. It was expensive too. Had to wait for 30 minutes for staff to come back from a fag break to pay for a meal we didn't want to pay for. The chef gave our young female company some horrible dirty chat up line to top it all off.

Horrific experience, never again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Understanding staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Turned up not really with the intention of having lunch,but after seeing the menu decided to stay longer. The waitress apologised for not having any childrens menu,but we chose to order the hotdog with the intention of halving it ourselves for the children.
We were pleasantly surprised when the food arrived that the hot dog had already been divided into 2 seperate portions complete with chips.
Very understanding owners!
The ribs were excellent too. I would recomend to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

the muffin was awful and coffee in a cup big enough for two bowls of soup i really have nothing else to say it was a bad experiance not to be repeated

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard r, Manager at Route 66, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am disapointed that you did not enjoy your coffee or muffin. Our coffee is American and many people come in just for coffee. We do also serve it in a large cup as this is what most of our customers expect. Regarding the muffins they are supplied by one of the finest bakers in Inverness and have sold hundreds with no problem with them before. However As we listen to what our costomers tell us we have now taken muffins off the menu and have also added a choice of large or regular mug for ouir hot beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Passing through to invergordon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hi
we were passing through Inverness a few weeks ago on our way to Invergordon to see friends
and thought we would have a bite to eat before we arrived i know Inverness well as i used to work
there many years ago as i drove round by the bus station i seen the dinner on the corner
me being an x rock&roll guitarist and just back from America i said to the mrs we must go and have a look at this so we parked the car and went in we got a lovley warm welcome we was shown to our seats we ordered drinks and burgers i think waited around 15 mins to 20 mins but the wait did not matter as there was so much to see and take in and you can take photos of the guitars on the wall the service counter is made out of a chevey fantastic idea the is great too i am on another trip up to Inverness and i am going to ask the owners if i can bring the band up for a photo shoot and even maybe do a 50s gig there with the band i have looked at some of the other the revues but i always say it try for yourself i found it great hope to see you all at weekend cheers

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.