We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ness Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ness Guest House to your Saves list
The Ness Guest House
48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lawrence, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Ness Guest House for two nights last week. Everything was just great and Susan could not have been more warm and hospitable. Breakfast was very tasty and the decor of the entire house was clearly well thought out. Great suggestions from Susan as well as information located throughout the house on things to do in the area. We really enjoyed Inverness and the Ness was a great base for seeing the town and surrounding area. Having an off-street parking lot was a valuable amenity and it's only a 5 minute walk to city center restaurants and shops. Highly recommended and I hope I get to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Inverness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
142
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My fiancee and I chose the Ness Guest House for a two night stay to celebrate my upcoming 27th birthday. We spoke to Susan, the owner, before travelling as our train didn't depart until 5 hours after check-out, and she offered to let us keep our considerable luggage in the guest house until we needed it. When we arrived on the Thursday, we were greeted by an informative and friendly hostess (Susan) who showed us to our room and gave some advice on local bars/eateries. The room itself was impeccably decorated, clean and very comfy. The next morning we were treated to a lovely Scottish breakfast, after some porridge for myself and a yoghurt with some fresh fruit for my partner. The breakfast was delicious and cooked thoroughly. We returned later after our days activities and began to get ready for an evening meal when Susan appeared at the door with a bottle of Italian Prosecco and two glasses as it was my birthday. A lovely wee treat that made my day and our trip that little bit more special. All-in-all a lovely little Guest House, with attentive owners, good food, a central location and comfy beds. What more could you ask for? It may be slightly more expensive than some of the others in Inverness, but from my experience you get what you pay for and the little extra is worth it for the quality of stay you should expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much Russell for such a wonderful review. It was really good of you to take the time. It was lovely to meet you and Katie and we're pleased that you enjoyed your birthday. Always good to know too that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Keep us in mind when it's your 28th!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a wonderful experience our family had at The Ness Guest House! We arrived by train and took a cab to the house, then found that a shortcut meant we were only 10 minutes walk into the center of town! The rooms are done up in a lovely fashion and the beds are super comfortable. The bath has all of the amenities of home and you don't see that often in Europe! Breakfast was basically all you could eat, all cooked fresh and hot. I highly recommend The Ness Guest House! Lovely and the owners are so friendly and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Rain. Thank you so much for writing us such a great review. We appreciate you taking the time. It was so nice meeting you and your family and we're really glad to hear you had such a enjoyable time here. If you come back to visit Scotland again, you must come and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Ness has an excellent location, just a few minutes' walk from the centre and also easily accessible by car with its own off street parking. We had a very cosy, comfortable room, and enjoyed a delicious Scottish breakfast each morning. We only stayed two nights - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Many thanks John for writing a great review, we appreciate you taking the time. It was good to meet you both and we'd love to have you stay with us again. Glad to hear you had a lovely time and thanks again for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We only stayed on night but it was a lovely B&B - free from naff china dogs and frilly stuff (unless that's your sort of thing??). Friendly service, great location, comfy beds, fluffy towels, every thing you need. If I go to Inverness again, I will try to book a room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello Kath, many thanks for giving us such a great review. It was lovely meeting you both and it's good to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Hope you liked traveling first class! You must stay with us again and sample the hearty breakfast next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The welcome at the Ness and the comfortable facilities made our two day stay in Inverness a most enjoyable holiday experience. The food was great with good safe parking facilities near the town centre. We will both return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
it was lovely to meet you both and many thanks for writing us such a great review. Really glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope that the ferry crossing was smooth and that you had a great time on Orkney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

the guest house was excellent in its cleanliness and food, the proprietors were very friendly and only too willing to go the extra mile with anything you wanted. we spent 2 excellent days in Inverness and as the location is only 5 minutes walk to city centre it is so very central to everything.One small criticism was that the room was not over generous in size but was ideal in every other respect

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us such a great review. It was lovely to meet you and we appreciate you taking the time to review us. It's always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Please come and stay with us again (the spacious superking room awaits you!) when you next get a wee break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness Guest House

Address: 48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation at The Ness Guest House in Inverness, Highlands. Centrally located at 48 Union Road, a quiet residential street in the Crown district, only a few minutes walk to Inverness Castle, the river Ness and the Eastgate shopping centre. A wealth of information on activities. Free private off-street parking and secure overnight bicycle storage. All rooms with modern en-suites. Free wireless internet access for guests. Tasty full Scottish or continental breakfast. Children over the age of 12 are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Ness Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ness Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.