We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like a second home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ness Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Ness Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ness Guest House
48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 217 Inverness B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“It was like a second home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

It was perfect! the place to be in inverness! Super nice people, absolutely friendly, very helpful and it was very very clean! Hosts whit great attention to details. I would it anytime book again.

Laura, Switzerland in May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Many thanks Laura for giving us a great review we appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you both and hope that you had a great vacation in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ness Guest House May 18-20 and it was absolutely wonderful!!! Susan is a wonderful host and her breakfast is delicious... including the vegetarian haggis!!! Would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks Alison for such a great review. We enjoyed meeting you and Steve and hope we helped make your vacation in Scotland a good one. Glad you're now a veggie-haggis convert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We sadly had a fleeting visit to The Ness Guest House but wish we could have stayed longer!From the warm welcome and helpful service through to the amazing bed and lovely elegant crockery at breakfast,it was great! All the small touches and attention to detail made all the difference!Hopefully we'll be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Gillian for reviewing us so positively. It was great to meet you and your husband (albeit briefly) and we're glad you made it to the wedding on time! We'd love for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friendly, spotlessly clean, off street parking, comfortable beds, great breakfast selection, close to town & pubs and didn't cost the earth.
I cant think why you would go anywhere else.
Looking forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was lovely to meet you and your wife and we're pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Brilliant hospitality, very comfortable room and great selection of food available for breakfast! Very close to the city centre which was great and has good links to the bus and train station. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to others!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Karolyn, many thanks for reviewing us. It was lovely to meet you and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everything about the Ness Guest House was fabulous. Very clean, comfortable, and great location. Our hosts were super friendly and accommodating. This was honestly the best B&B of our three week trip and we stayed in several different locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many thanks Tommie and Greg for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both. If you are ever back in Scotland in the future come and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've just spent a great weekend at the Ness Guest House. The accommodation was first class. My room was tastefully decorated with a very comfy big bed and large en-suite. There were a lot of lovely little touches like the furnishings and complimentary toiletries which gave the place a real quality feel. This extended throughout the guest house and particularly in the dining room which is a bright and airy room where I enjoyed a hearty breakfast! The owners were very friendly and also very knowledgeable on things to do in the local area. Overall, the standard of accommodation was extremely high and way above what I'd expect from a guest house. This, combined with the central location (10 minutes walk to shops and station), makes the Ness Guest House a great place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Inverness.

Room Tip: As the guest house is situated in a quiet area, all rooms are likely to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Sandra, many thanks for reviewing us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness Guest House

Address: 48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation at The Ness Guest House in Inverness, Highlands. Centrally located at 48 Union Road, a quiet residential street in the Crown district, only a few minutes walk to Inverness Castle, the river Ness and the Eastgate shopping centre. A wealth of information on activities. Free private off-street parking and secure overnight bicycle storage. All rooms with modern en-suites. Free wireless internet access for guests. Tasty full Scottish or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your The Ness Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ness Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.