We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of Our Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ness Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Ness Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ness Guest House
48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 217 Inverness B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anacortes, Washington
1 review
“Best B&B of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everything about the Ness Guest House was fabulous. Very clean, comfortable, and great location. Our hosts were super friendly and accommodating. This was honestly the best B&B of our three week trip and we stayed in several different locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many thanks Tommie and Greg for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both. If you are ever back in Scotland in the future come and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've just spent a great weekend at the Ness Guest House. The accommodation was first class. My room was tastefully decorated with a very comfy big bed and large en-suite. There were a lot of lovely little touches like the furnishings and complimentary toiletries which gave the place a real quality feel. This extended throughout the guest house and particularly in the dining room which is a bright and airy room where I enjoyed a hearty breakfast! The owners were very friendly and also very knowledgeable on things to do in the local area. Overall, the standard of accommodation was extremely high and way above what I'd expect from a guest house. This, combined with the central location (10 minutes walk to shops and station), makes the Ness Guest House a great place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Inverness.

Room Tip: As the guest house is situated in a quiet area, all rooms are likely to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Sandra, many thanks for reviewing us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, very nice guest house. Very friendly hosts. Rooms and Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend staying here. Central location was good for touring the highlands and local attractions. Very quiet and close to town centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks very much for the review Paul. Glad you enjoyed your weekend in Inverness and your stay with us at The Ness Guest House. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at this excellent guest house. The place was spotless and very
nicely furnished with a huge bed. We will definitely be coming back to this place.

There is a lovely walk down by the river, and loads to do in Inverness.

We found Inverness very friendly.

Room Tip: the room we had which was room 4 had a fantastic gigantic bed. Was lovely and quiet, All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It's great that you reviewed our guest house Jo, we appreciate it. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful guest house. Close to the town centre but still remarkably quiet. Breakfast definitely sets you up for the day ahead :D

Bonus points for having the sense to install shower heads that go higher than 6ft, rather than having to fold myself in half to get my hair wet.

Thank you Susan & Richie. We are looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many thanks Lee for such a positive review, we always try our best to make the guest house as comfortable as possible for guests (of all heights!) and having decent powerful showers at a useful height was a must for us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well, what can I say about this lovely guest house? Perfect from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The owners are a lovely, friendly couple who are very accommodating.
My husband and I stayed in room 4 which was bright, airy and comfortable. The bed, was huge and very comfy ( nearly didn't get up for breakfast). There also was a telly with a DVD player along with tea and coffee facilities in the room. The ensuite was clean and lots of goodies, soap, shower gel etc.
As for breakfast, well best meal of the day and such a large choice. I had a cooked breakfast as did my Husband which was very tasty. My Husband had haggis, black pudding and Tattie scones with his and thoroughly enjoyed it. Portions sizes just right.
The dining room is a nice room with a beautiful fireplace.

This is our second time travelling to Inverness but first time at this B&B and we will be back. It is ideally placed to walk into Inverness centre but also to get out onto the main routes for sightseeing. Combined with the warm welcome, comfy room and fabulous breakfast we would highly recommend.

Couldn't fault this guest house at all.

Room Tip: Room 4, large, comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Joanne, thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this and hope that you will stay with us again.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I booked last minute to this lovely Guest House and couldn't have been more fortunate. The accommodation is lovely, clean and very comfortable. The hosts attentive and helpful and the value for money was exceptional.
Our room was quiet and beautifully furnished. Ness Guest House is only a short walk from the City Centre of Inverness and all the local amenities and shops. Off street parking is great and the breakfast was second to none.
We highly recommend this Guest House which provides hotel quality accommodation for BnB prices! Fantastic. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks Pam for such a great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we're pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and see us when you're next in Inverness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness Guest House

Address: 48 Union Road, Inverness IV23JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation at The Ness Guest House in Inverness, Highlands. Centrally located at 48 Union Road, a quiet residential street in the Crown district, only a few minutes walk to Inverness Castle, the river Ness and the Eastgate shopping centre. A wealth of information on activities. Free private off-street parking and secure overnight bicycle storage. All rooms with modern en-suites. Free wireless internet access for guests. Tasty full Scottish or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your The Ness Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ness Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.