We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum

Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum
16 Clachnaharry Road, Inverness IV38QH, Scotland
+44 1463 716839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Inverness
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free. Open 10 - 3pm daily. No parking, drop-off only. Nearest parking Telford St Retail Park. A small interactive and evolving museum in Inverness with nautical artefacts & large ships: e.G 1:10 scale Titanic, Buckie drifter, RNLI lifeboat & more...
Birkirkara, Malta
1 review
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the outside it didn't seem so bright but turned out to be one of the nicest excursions of our holiday. The kids absolutely loved it and so did we. We liked the dress up and going up and down the well built and creative boats. We liked the special treatment by the owner who showed us around and shared with us his projections for the future. There is also a nice path to walk on with amazing views. Overall the titanic museum is unique and fun to visit. It is recommended that one follows the name of the road when using a gps because the museum is not listed as a place of interest on gps.

From Malta

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    20
    3
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm a huge Titanic fan and so whilst I was in Inverness with family I saw this attraction and with the free price tag attached we felt even more inclined!

There are endless amounts to read about, watch and do! My younger four year old and ten year old cousins loved playing on the xbox game (it was hard to drag them away) which gave us plenty of time to look at the enormous amounts of articles, etc that the owner has collected over the years.

The owner also made us tea and coffee and gave us biscuits, something he didn't charge us for which was such a lovely gesture. All he asks is that you consider donating to the lifeboat charity and the funding/maintenance of the 'museum' which after visiting you feel like giving him the entire contents of your purse!

It did however start raining but luckily by then we had covered every aspect from the brilliant model of the titanic, to the little play area around it, the other boats in his 'garden', to the upstairs and downstairs of the quirky museum. The owner then rang us a taxi and offered to take us to the taxi with a couple of umbrellas, what an absolute gent!

Would definitely like to return in a couple of years to see how this has expanded as it sounds like the owner has fantastic plans!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Museum of Titanic creativity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wandered into the titanic museum not knowing what to expect from the rusty gate and hand painted blackboards but found this one of the most enjoyable visits of the week. There is so much creativity and randomness it's more a piece of artwork than museum. Everything is hands on, including a boat that you sit in and play a play station speed boat game. Would recommend to anyone .. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your average museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This "museum" is an unofficial one which has been created as a labour of love in the private house and garden of an eccentric Titanic enthusiast.. Most of the house and garden grounds have been turned over to Titanic and other ship memorabilia. There is a 12 metre model of Titanic with steam emerging from a funnel as well as real boats including a lifeboat. Inside the boats and the building are extensive displays of press cuttings, old photographs and diagrams of the Titanic, re-creations of crews quarters, ships compass and wheels, and video displays and recorded sounds of steam ship engines. It's all a bit quirky and home made but we learned a lot about the Titanic on this visit. The "museum" is free but a donation the RNLI is always welcome. You have to park at the retail area about 200m along the road but the walk is worth it or there is a drop off point at the premises. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Amazing quirky museum - a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is just fantastic! So quirky and unusual! We had the pleasure of meeting the owner who clearly has a passion for his collection of Titanic memorabilia and a fascination with everything about the ship and her story, as well as all things nautical. Really really worth a visit if you are in the area. Park at the Lock area and walk along the waterside past the boats, then down the garden path past 'Titanic' herself to enter. Great stuff!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.