We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“children will love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum

Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum
16 Clachnaharry Road, Inverness IV38QH, Scotland
+44 1463 716839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Inverness
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free. Open 10 - 3pm daily. No parking, drop-off only. Nearest parking Telford St Retail Park. A small interactive and evolving museum in Inverness with nautical artefacts & large ships: e.G 1:10 scale Titanic, Buckie drifter, RNLI lifeboat & more...
inverness
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“children will love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went in to see this museum while walking by the canal (lovely walk by the way) and found it fascinating.It is free but donations are welcome and well deserved considering all the work one man has put into this project. It is not only a museum but his and his family's home and there is plenty of fascinating things to see and hear and loads of hands-on stuff inside and out for kids. As well as the Titanic model which he is still working on ,there is a fishing boat and a lifeboat in the garden to explore and there will be another boat in time. He has a wealth of information on boats in general and will happily talk about them and answer endless questions with patience and expert knowledge. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Yes we live separate from the museum in the original 1840's Toll House. I built the extension in 1997 and in 2011 I turned the entire extension into a museum. The extension is more than twice the size of the original house. It's great living here, I don't have far to go to work. Do come again, I'm busy working on a new boat. It is a full size model. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    20
    3
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
“Amazingly surreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here as part of a daytrip with the kids and took a taxi from the town to a neighbourhood where the museum is and wow the titanic along with other boats is situated in the guys garden with the main museum being in the house ! The kids had a blast as they were allowed to touch and explore everything including the actual titanic with its rooms. The amount of skill and work put into this is far too much to put into words but it's amazing what the owner has done and will be back again. My youngest adored the walli playground and was playing on the boats etc, such a hidden gem

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for writing an amazing review. I'm very pleased you like what I've done. I would like to point out to anybody reading that the museum is totally separate from the house. It is in the extension of our house, the extension being twice the size of the house. I'm in the process of adding more model characters to the playground. I've also been working on a new boat. Come back again, see the new boat. It should hopefully take a few months to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing and Heartbreaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love history so of course I hit up the Titanic Museum. It was sad to see all the stories and the information but I felt I learned a lot!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. I would like to add more information on the walls and will do in due course. So much to do, so little time. Thanks again for your review, sorry I took so long to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

as it is free you dont expect much, but this is a fun museum. You can pretend you are on the titanic tea room (honesty system.) play a computer game in a speedboat. It is just quaint and fun - check out the many post it notes!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The tea room in the Titanic is an attempt at a reproduction of the Parisian Café' that was on board the Titanic. I still have to paint the trellis white as it looks more like the veranda palm court café' that was also on the Titanic. My son is redoing the sticky notes into printed words and laminating them to make us a bit more museum like. It was a mad rush to open the museum for the 100th anniversary of the Titanic sailing, hence the sticky notes. I'm glad you enjoyed the museum, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Titanic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lots of items, much more information, and staff that can and will answer any question you may have indepth and with patience.
Well laid out, it's easy to get around the displays.
An experience you wont regret spending a few hours on

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks for writing a great review. Sorry I took so long to reply, very busy. As for questions, I don't know all the questions about the Titanic but I do know a lot. Having learned a lot about it by building the model. Thanks again and come visit again I'm building a new boat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Titanic Inverness Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.