We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class B&B with excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moyness House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Moyness House to your Saves list
Moyness House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First-class B&B with excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The owners of Moyness House are friendly, the rooms are extremely well presented, and everything is spotlessly clean. Great care has been taken to address all of your needs, including decent tea bags and coffee, large towels, lovely soaps and toiletries, thoughtful bedside reading material, and free WiFi. The breakfast is excellent; the choice was very varied with none of the cheap bacon/sausage/bread that you might get elsewhere. The location is super, as it's in a quiet street less than 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. Richard is very knowledgeable about all the restaurants in town, too. I would recommend this 100%, though you will pay slightly more for the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
217
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a nearly three week trip to Scotland. During that trip we stayed at several hotels and seven B&Bs. We were fortunate in our choice of places to stay but the Moyness House and the hospitality extended to us by Jenny and Richard stood out as exceptional. The work that they have done in restoring their home is a labor of love. The decor is beautiful while wonderfully functional. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms are modern, bright and clean beyond expectation. Further, the B&B is an easy ten minute walk to the City Centre. Inverness is a surprisingly pleasant city to visit. There are numerous quality restaurants within an easy walk. It is also a great base from which to take day trips to see this area of Scotland. The hospitality of Jenny and Richard make the Moyness House and Inverness a must stop on your trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have spent there one week. It was one of the best experiences we ever had. Hospitality was great. Food was very good. We have got also very useful advices how to trawel across the Scotland. We are fully recomendinf this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This B&B was outstanding. Coming from North America we don't have the same perspective about B&B's but this was truly an outstanding accommodation. Our room was exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. The location could not have been better, quiet in the evening and close enough to walk to town. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, we could not eat lunch on either of the days the stayed. We were very comfortable. The making of a B&B in our opinion is also the hosts. Richard and Jenny were so friendly and gave us good advice about routes to continue on our journey. Richard had some excellent suggestions on "off the beaten track" ways to get us to our next destination. He also gave us great ideas on what to see in the immediate area. I needed some help choosing a bottle of Scotch to take back to friends, and not being a Scotch drinker, it was all a little overwhelming. He steered us in the right directions and from what I hear from the friend that received the bottle, it was excellent advice once again.
I highly recommend this B&B and if we ever return to the area we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location, gorgeous room, yummy breakfast, sweet host, quiet and welcoming atmosphere, enough heating, lovely modern bathroom, etc.

And then there were the little touches that really put it on the top of the charts: •There was an electrical outlet for the hair dryer at elbow level BY A MIRROR. Yay. I didnt have to crawl under some desk, or move furniture to plug in the hair dryer.

•There was just one faucet at the bathroom sink so I could get actual warm water(!) So many places have scalding hot water from the faucet on the left, freezing cold water from the faucet on the right. (Why is that?)

•There was good light by another mirror where I could put on my make up.....

•These little things MATTER and I was so grateful. Plus there was plenty of parking on the property. Bonus!

We are on a two week road trip thru Scotland and it was so nice to have come across this gem.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This B&B is very well situated just a few minutes from Inverness centre. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Richard was very welcoming, with good advice on where to eat in the evening and what to see and do. The breakfasts were delicious. Beautifully cooked! We were on the ground floor and had a fair bit of noise from creaking floorboards above us, particularly as other guests got up for an ealry departure and seemed to walk around an awful lot! I would certainly stay there again but would ask for a room on the first floor

Room Tip: Pick one on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We received a very warm friendly welcome from our hosts Jenny and Richard. I stayed at Moyness House for 3 nights with my wife,mum & dad and my mother in law for the Loch Ness marathon in September. The room was spacious and very comfortable,bathroom spotless with nice big fluffy towels. Breakfast in the mornings served by Richard was delicious and so much to choose from it set you up for the day ahead. I had a 06:45 breakfast on the Sunday morning as I was running the marathon and it was no problem for Richard to get up early to serve. Quiet location,short walk to the city centre. Warm, friendly and highly recommend B&B to stay at when in Inverness. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moyness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyness House

Address: 6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyness House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and immaculately restored Victorian house was once the home of acclaimed Scottish author, Neil Gunn, and is now a highly regarded bed and breakfast inn, offering high quality accommodation and warm hospitality. Moyness House is ideally located in a quiet residential street, less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre and many excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moyness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moyness House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moyness House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.