We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do I Have To Go Home?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux to your Saves list
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow,Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Do I Have To Go Home?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We had previously eaten in Rocpool Rendevous - their city centre restaurant - which was one of the best meals I had ever had & so, we promised ourselves that the next time we planned to come up north from Glasgow we would treat ourselves to a stay in their hotel.
As it happened it was my husband who secretly booked it for my birthday.
It lived up to my expectations & more! The attention to detail is second to none. They pander to your every need without being obtrusive.
The room has everything you'll need, with a bathroom you'll want to take home with you! (I only managed to fit the toiletries in my case though!) Beautiful big fluffy bathrobes & a coffee machine you want to keep using!
Drinks at the bar before dinner were very well done & put you in the right mood for the upcoming show. This chef is amazing! I've eaten in many fine dining restaurants, but this had something special. Not only did the staff make you feel welcome without being stuffy, they presented the food the way it deserved to be......without pretension. It didn't need it, it spoke for itself.
So, my advice - book now & enjoy!

  • Liked — Food, Service, Bedroom amenities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    70
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
280
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We have just stayed at Rocpool Reserve (Sun 27th to Mon 28th April) and what a little gem this place is.......

We stayed Room 10 which had it's own private outdoor Hot-tub on a lovely little patio which had a table & chairs. We had Cocktails & Dinner on Sunday evening and i would have to say - and we have eaten in lots of lovely restaurants - that the food has to be some of the best we have ever eaten..... the combinations, flavours and portions were suberb! Well Done to the Chef!

We could not fault anything about this Hotel or the Staff - and anyone who has stayed in Room 10 - the only teeny weeny complaint would be the noise of chairs moving on the decking above - but a very teeny complaint... on hindsight we would take an Ipod next time and play music thru the fantastic sound system they have there....because there will be a next time!

I would recommend to Couples for a lovely romantic, peaceful getaway.... it was my husbands birthday on Sunday and it was just a perfect place and we had a perfect day......

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

My fiance treated me to a night at rocpool fpr my birthday and I couldn't have wished for a better present. The rooms were gorgeous, the food was great and the staff were all freiendly and chatty. The only drawback was that we had such a huge meal we had no room left for one of the delicious cocktails on offer

  • Liked — pure luxury and huge beds
  • Disliked — view of wall
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We stayed 2 nights - the first in the extra decadent with hot tub and the second in the decadent with downtairs bathroom. Both were not disappointing. Very clean and luxuriously kitted out. Great for a romantic getaway but still near to amenities. The food in the restaurant was nice but the wine very pricey. However just a short walk took you to lots of bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful and moved our luggage from room to room. Would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Hot tub and bathrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Me and my partner travelled up from Aberdeen on Friday afternoon for a two night stay at the hotel.

We had read reviews and received recommendations from friends, so we were well aware of the reputation that the hotel has.

Upon arrival we were a little annoyed by the lack of parking as we ended up parking on the street an having to pay at the meter.

However, first impression of the hotel were excellent, we were greeted at the lavish reception area by a lovely young lady, who was very pleasant.

We were shown to our room, number 9, a ‘Chic’ room, which was wonderfully presented. The bathroom was just lush, with fantastic molton brown toiletries!

The food, which had from room service for both dinner and breakfast during our stay was fantastic and the flat screen tv, dvd player and the Tasimo coffee machine just added that extra something to our room.

No real complaints to make, due to the rates per night we were expecting a high level of service and quality and we were not disappointed!

we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My wife's birthday present of our night's stay and dinner at this small, friendly and fabulous hotel ticked all the boxes! Our 'Chic' room was split level with bathroom and dressing room below with a short stair leading to the bedroom. My wife loved the toiletries and I loved the coffee machine! The whole interior is decorated in a very adventurous modern style, yet retains a cool and elegant atmosphere.
The food is superb - in a league of it's own. Don't take my word for it; take the dining option when you book your room. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

Consistently friendly, efficient and excellent service from the knowledgeable staff at Rocpool..Lots of little touches which made all the difference, lovely Molton Brown toiletries,oversized bathrooms, good mineral water and coffee in rooms.
We had dinner in the restaurant, preceded by spot on cocktails! Dinner was faultless, adventurous but excellent menu.
Super atmosphere at Rocpool, would definitely return.

  • Liked — inspired but comfortable decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.