We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but beware vouchers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux to your Saves list
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great but beware vouchers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We raved so much about our first trip here, great service, rooms and food, that my parents bought us a dinner bed an breakfast voucher for christmas. Wonderful, not cheap, particularly given my parents circumstances. We had a decadent room, but for the dates we wanted to book they only had a ... well whatever the room down is because they were fully booked. We have limited opportunities to get away so when we asked if they could say, put the difference towards a bottle of wine, no joy. So it would have been a great waste of money.

My wife decided we're better off going later (a month later as it happens) when we can use the room we got (bearing in mind the voucher has a very limited life span). So we changed our plans and when in February.

The place itself, well I would continue to say great things about it. Lovely rooms, service, food and drinks.

Just a pity about the voucher system where you pay upfront for something you might not get!

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you were happy with the Service, Food and Drinks which we provide at Rocpool Reserve.

It is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you on the original dates you had requested. As the voucher offer was very popular it would not have been possible to guarantee availability for every night. Though I am delighted you were able to visit us in February and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    65
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
30
256
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

this is a lovely hotel with great service. The staff are very pleasant and attentive. The rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean. The service was fantastic as was the food. The location is good for the town centre around a five minute walk to there, the castle and the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you visit us, and we are delighted you were able to enjoy the service, accommodation, and our location.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having spent 2 nts here at the start of March with my husband I would like to say what a lovely hotel it is and the food excellent. We stayed in a classic room and everything was first class - loved the double shower,and bathrobes and slippers. The Roux Express was well presented and breakfast filled you up for the day. Would definatley be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially the Bathrobes, Shower and Slippers.
Our Rouxpress meal is also one of our very popular options on our menu and I am delighted that it had met your expectations.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

As friends had highly recommended the Rocpool, we took advantage of the Groupon deal of 2 nights Bed & Breakfast with a Roux Express dinner on the first night. We were thoroughly impressed by the level of service, the beautiful room, dinner on the first night and breakfast in the morning - all excellent! However, having chosen to eat in the Bar on the second night(our wedding anniversary) as everything had been so perfect the previous evening, we were sorely disappointed! The level of service and attention seemed to evaporate and we were suddenly invisible and ignored for 35 minutes - not even offered water or to order another drink! - whereas every other table was being treated as we had been the night before. We walked out in disgust as the evening was killed. The Manager was very apologetic and normal service did resume for breakfast. It was a great pity that this soured our opinion of an otherwise excellent hotel stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Stevens
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay. I am happy to read that you had enjoyed your first evening with us, and as discussed with yourselves it is with deep regret that we had not met expectations on the 2nd evening you joined us.
Our staff take great pride in the service they offer to our guests and are greatly disappointed that they had not followed this through for your 2nd evening.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and we will endeavour to provide you with the standard of service expected.
Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Would definately recommend this Hotel. Room was lovely and the staff are so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of meeting you again.

Kindest Regards

Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Rocpool Reserve last week and dined at Chez Roux on both evenings. The whole exprience was top notch from when we arrived until we regretfully had to leave. Hotel staff were friendly and efficicient. Our room was well appointed with all the usual features that would be expected from a high quality boutique hotel. Before dinner we enjoyed drinks in the hotel's stylish cocktail bar. Drinks were reasonably priced for an establishment of this class and were accompanied by delicious canapes. There was a fine selection of excellent cocktails on the drinks menu. Dinner itself was faultless. On the first evening, we selected from the three course menu, including coffee and petit fours, for a very reasonable £28. On the second evening, we chose from the A la Carte menu, which was also very reasonably priced. The restaurant has been thoughtfully and stylishly designed to create the impression of space. There are lots of of Roux related photos and cartoon pictures on the walls, but all done in the best possible taste. Breakfast was historic (to quote Mr Winner), with plenty of choice to suit everyone's taste and all served at your table. I had the full cooked breakfast on the first morning and an absolutely sensational omelette 'Arnold Bennett' on day 2. It would probably have been sufficient to serve a family of four!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the rocpool hotel using a living social voucher which included 2 nights bed & breakfast plus a 3 course meal in the roux restaurant. The hotel has a gorgeous interior, however the exterior of the building doesn't really do it justice. We stayed in room 8 which was n the lower ground floor. The bed was ginormous with feather pillows and was extremely comfortable. Robes, slippers, hair dryer, iron/ ironing board & mini bar were all provided in the room. There was also a tassimo machine, which was great. The hotel provided fresh milk as and when requested which meant I could really enjoy a nice cupola rather than having to use the horrible hut milk which you usually get in hotels. There was molton brown shampoo and shower gel in the shower cubicle, plus a variety of yes richer toiletries provided. There was a separate shower and bath unit both of which were v big and had more than enough space. The room was exceptionally clean and today and on the first night the room was freshened up whilst we were upstairs enjoying our evening meal. We we also left some French cookies and complimentary bottled water which was a really lovely touch. All of the staff which we met were very attentive and extremely helpful. My only minor niggle with being on a lower ground room, is that the windows are large and open really wide so you couldn't really leave it open during the night as someone could potentially get into the room, so it was a little bit warm on a night.

The meal which we had on our first night in the roux restaurant was absolutely great I had chicken and bacon terrine to starte, followed by hake and crushed potatoes, with brioche bread and butter pudding for desert. Each course was full of flavour and just the right amount of food on the plate. There were only a few tables occupied, so it was a little bit lacking in atmosphere but don't let that put you off.
Breakfast was great, lots of options to suit every taste and you have to try and get the table by the bay window to get a great view of Inverness.
A great hotel and definitely worth a visit

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your experience with us. I am delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and I will make sure and pass your kind comments onto all the staff.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.