We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Stuart

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Stuart
Save
You added Castle Stuart to your Saves list
Castle Stuart | Petty Parish, Inverness IV2 7JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our fourth stay at Castle Stuart & it is extra-special to us as it's where we were married 9 years ago. And, as ever, it didn't disappoint! Caroline & Grace went out of their way to make our stay a magical experience. It really is a home from home, with all those special little touches that set it apart from other places.

After two stays in the haunted Murray Room over the years, this time we chose the McLachlan Room, or Battlement Suite, at the top of the west tower, the room we had stayed in on our very first trip to Castle Stuart back in 2002. As ever, chocolates and goodies were left on the bed & all around the castle for us to help ourselves to, & tea, coffee & cakes were waiting for us in the drawing room. Although we missed Mrs M & her amazing porridge as she was on holiday, dinner & breakfast were elaborate affairs & we felt very spoilt. I would certainly recommend staying for dinner if you can.

If you're looking for enormous flat screen TVs & all the mod cons then this isn't the place for you. However, if you're searching for a place where you can get away from it all in the most wonderful peaceful surroundings where you feel really pampered, then this should suit you down to the ground! There is no denying that it is expensive, but each time we stay it's worth every penny.

Thank you Caroline (& this time Grace too) for another memorable stay - the perfect end to our holiday in Scotland!

Room Tip: Choose the haunted honeymoon suite (Murray Room) at the top of the East tower or battlement suite (M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
69
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed a while back in August. We only had the chance to stay 1 night as our Scotland trip rushed passed us. I had booked the Castle room for my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by Caroline, we left our suitcases at the door as we had a very early start to Ireland the next morning so Caroline let us leave our luggage at the bottom (thank god) We were taken on a wonderful tour showing us all the hidden rooms and passages. We were then taken up to our room. I had booked this room for a number of reasons. It was the Murray Suite, My mums family's surname is Murray (from scotland too) 2. The haunted suite for the boyfriend, he loved it. and of course it is the honeymoon suite and made it perfect as we got engaged on our europe trip too!
Dinner was absolutely devine. We shared the dining room with only 1 other couple. Caroline and her staff did an amazing job for my boyfriends birthday giving him the kings throne and crown and gown! it was a sight!! The piper was beautiful he played my grandparents wedding song and many more of my grandads favourites (he passed away 10years ago - he was definately there that night) Piper also played Happy Birthday for my man too!
This place is breathtaking. Eery and creepy but absolutely amazing.
We will definately be back!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 10 days in the land of my ancestors and Stuart Castle was easily a highlight of the trip - of any trip. What a great time - sadly only one night here. Caroline Stuart met us at the door and commenced the tour which included a search for hidden doors which was fascinating. The Stuarts have done a magnificent job with this place. There was one other couple at the castle and we had the Battlement Suite ‘Maclachlan,' otherwise known as the Three Turret - Haunted Honeymoon Suite. We did not see the ghost. This is the same room Helen Mirren honeymooned in! We opted for dinner at the castle and what a treat it was. Deb and I, dressed in the crowns and robes provided, were on far ends of a 20-foot table in a wonderful, fireplace and candle-lit room with fabulous art all around. The food and service were excellent. Wandering around after dinner was pretty neat. The common room was awesome - each room had a fire burning and in early October, that was just the right touch to make it comfortable. We were every bit the laird and lady of the land during our visit. The next morning's breakfast was a HUGE spread of just about anything you would want and it was yummy. We toured the gnome garden - super job, Caroline - and visited the small horses next door. Oban was calling, though, and we left on the next leg of the holiday but will not forget our time at Castle Stuart.

Room Tip: Ask for the turret suite but when you are told to bring a small overnight bag to bring up the windin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The castle was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very sweet and gave a guided tour that informed on several different aspects of the castle. The food was some of the best I have eaten ever in my life. The room was beautiful and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The atmosphere was so warm and comfortable with the fire in the drawing room and treats and coffee after dinner. At night, things do get a little creepier (in a good way) with the thought of ghosts haunting the castle. The tower stairs are a little steep but it only adds to the atmosphere of being in a real castle. Definitely want to return and stay for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at unique 1600's castle to the north of Inverness. We stayed in the King's suite, located at the top of one of the towers. Went with our nuclear family and our early-20's kids had a good time in the Billiards room playing Snooker and Darts. Ate in the large dining room at a huge table, with another couple. Meals were great with a hearty dinner and great breakfast. Views from the top of the tower were great that night - hundreds of stars in the sky with Inverness in the distance. Christmas decorations were a bit over the top, and likely more suited for younger children.

Room Tip: If you take the King's suite, be prepared to climb a lot of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carouge, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What an experience! We loved our stay at the castle stuart! First Caroline gives us a tour of the castle and showed us all the hidden places. It's a beautiful castle, beautifully redone. Then she showed us our room (the murray room), we were stunned. There was a fireplace, and lot's of little treats; we felt cozy right away! Moreover we had the castle for ourselves, so we could enjoy the nice drawing room with all the whiskeys as well as the playing room. It really felt as we were the King and Queen of this castle! And the breakfast, heaven!
I would definitely recommend Castle Stuart, it's worth it! Really! And thanks to Caroline for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was at Castle Stuart together with eight girlfriends at the weekend for a 60th birthday celebration. We had booked the entire castle and wow, what a wonderful experience.
Yes, the stairs are difficult to negotiate and I also found it almost impossible to get my bearings - but this is an ancient castle and it all added to the charm and excitement of our stay.
Bedrooms were fantastic, the entire castle despite it being November was toasty warm, food was great and more than plentiful. Caroline, Grace and the other ladies were very accommodating and all in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay in such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Stuart

Address: Castle Stuart | Petty Parish, Inverness IV2 7JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Stuart is a 17th Century Tower House in the Highlands of Scotland, a 10 minute drive from Inverness.Restored privately from a derelict ruin, the Castle has 8 bedrooms available for overnight accommodation on an exclusive use basis or for individual use.Step back in time and enjoy the history and charm of a bygone era, alongwith the luxury of remote control gas fires/wifi/hot water and heating in your private chambers!Ideal for intimate weddings, a romantic escape, a family retreat, or indeed a birthday or anniversary party with style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Stuart Hotel Inverness
Castle Stuart Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Stuart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.